Skip to content

oh, woe is me!

July 16, 2015

you know when you get attached to a blog

and then one day it just disappears – no warning – just stopped

yesterday I came close to doing just that

I’ve always thought that when the day comes

I’ll post a farewell notice

but yesterday (according to the experts) my computer was “browser hacked”

they turned off the pop-up blocker

suddenly all I could get was hideous commercial ads

and then a rather large and serious WARNING from Microsoft

with a phone number suggesting I do something – quick

long story short

I surrendered my computer to a help desk in Florida

6 hours, 3 phone calls and a considerable amount of $$ later

and everything seems normal again

meanwhile, while I worried, I decided to catch up on some sewing

the machine wouldn’t work, needed oil, couldn’t find the oil can

trip to the hardware store, machine oiled

P1070244and I managed to sew one small lined bag without further problems

P1070228and then retreated to the studio

another turned draft – this time 6 shafts

8/2 and 20/2 cotton warp

as the 20/2 was too fine for the weft

I settled on a singles, bourette silk in tomato red

the loom needed some adjustments

I got a little heavy-handed with the tools and took a big hunk out of a finger – left hand fortunately

but sewing and typing are slow

glad that day is over!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2015 2:01 pm

    Thank goodness you got through the day. What a nightmare. Glad you are still blogging.
    Diana

    Like

    • July 16, 2015 2:21 pm

      Diana – I did consider – briefly – going back in time and living without, I wonder if that is even possible?

      Like

  2. Lis permalink
    July 16, 2015 2:25 pm

    That was one day to leave behind you forever, what a collection of traumas conspired to drive you to distraction. I hope most sincerely that the new day has dawned with the sun shining on you.

    Like

    • July 16, 2015 3:11 pm

      Lis – the sun is shining brightly. When I consider how small my traumas are I count my blessings.

      Like

  3. July 16, 2015 2:27 pm

    Yikes, sounds like the day from hell. Glad you made it through. The little bag is lovely.

    Like

    • July 16, 2015 3:08 pm

      Heather – shouldn’t continue working when distracted and not paying close attention. More little bags to do, they sell well at studio tours.

      Like

  4. July 16, 2015 2:27 pm

    Gosh, when things go wrong they really go wrong don’t they? I hope the rest of your week will be better.

    Like

  5. July 17, 2015 2:10 am

    My day sucked, too, glad it is over! Apparently we were all affected X

    Like

    • July 17, 2015 7:36 am

      Iris – did you have a hacking problem too, please let me know because if it is something affecting wordpress I will let them know.

      Like

  6. July 17, 2015 3:05 am

    That was a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day! Luckily, new days dawn and I can tell you’re the resilient type. Please don’t ever stop blogging without saying goodbye . . .

    Like

    • July 17, 2015 7:34 am

      Kerry – I’ve always wondered why some people/blogs just disappear? I think of many of my blog friends as real friends and would never just quit. I’m cautiously optomistic that this is fixed but am keeping an eye on it. let me know if anything seems out of order on your end.

      Like

  7. vdbolyard permalink
    July 18, 2015 8:50 am

    jean, you need a big hug and a glass of good canadian beer. wow, frustration, money, pain all in the same day. not fun.

    Like

    • July 20, 2015 7:27 pm

      Velma – I just wanted to run away to an island and stick my head in the sand, but then I couldn’t keep up with you. Hugs!

      Like

  8. July 20, 2015 1:59 am

    thank goodness it’s all over.now where were we..?

    Like

    • July 20, 2015 7:25 pm

      Neki – I have just spent another 10 hours with the company cleaning up every little nook and cranny of the whole computer. wow! fingers crossed. now I’m going to have to find my way around some programs, again. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

