Skip to content

sampling

June 30, 2015

to all of you who left a comment regarding my rather challenging choice of colours

thank you

as each of you knows, comments are what make blogging worthwhile

P1070139shown here with a 2013 page from my journal

(which I had completely forgotten when choosing the warp)

on the rare occasions when I attempt to break out of my colour rut

the results are encouraging – should do it more often

P1070149samples are invaluable – as is a good finishing

P1070147who would have thought? when it was on the loom

what’s next?

more samples

P1070142and the shibori?

I think I could improve on this but I’m still rather pleased

P1070143when I started stitching all I had to go on was a picture

it took 3 rows of stitching (at the top) before I realized the mistake

P1070144the back and front are quite different due to wrapping it on a rope

P1070145not washed and ironed yet, I love the texture

off to water the garden.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2015 10:35 am

    the shibori is amazing, what patience

    Like

    • June 30, 2015 10:47 am

      Debbie – thank you, the piece measures 22″ X 26′. I’ve been trying to imagine doing a major work, it would take a year – or more!

      Like

  2. vdbolyard permalink
    June 30, 2015 3:51 pm

    looks great, and you do have good notes. shibori wrapped on a rope. i like the sound of that.

    Like

    • June 30, 2015 4:39 pm

      Velma – in the old days in Arimatsu it was wrapped on a log, it took two men and a large dye vat. Shibori on a rope is much easier.

      Like

  3. June 30, 2015 7:06 pm

    But indigo IS so beautiful!

    Like

  4. June 30, 2015 10:35 pm

    Such a lovely shibori pattern! So many ways to stitch and dye.

    Like

  5. lagriccia permalink
    June 30, 2015 10:55 pm

    Fabulous indigo piece, well done!

    Like

  6. July 1, 2015 2:48 pm

    I like the shibori! I cannot imagine the time and planning it takes but I do love the product. And you bright towels are very happy!

    Like

    • July 1, 2015 3:13 pm

      Kerry – the stitched shibori takes time but I do it in the evenings when I’m too beat to do anything else (other than spin and I have cupboards, drawers and boxes full of handspun). Those are samples not towels, maybe at another time.

      Like

      • July 1, 2015 3:18 pm

        So, you actually sample, huh? Did you always or did you come to it after experience? I know I should but I don’t . . .

        Like

      • July 1, 2015 5:34 pm

        Kerry – I don’t always sample ( shh, don’t tell my students) because I’m familiar with many of the yarns I use – BUT – sometimes I regret it. This is a new weave structure to me and I turned it – so the threading is normally the weft and what was originally the warp is now woven as the weft. If you do this you have to remember to also turn the tie up. Plus I fiddled with it!! I’m now weaving the second sample warp with big changes so stay tuned. Sometimes I’ll do several different sample warps of the same structure introducing new ideas gained from the previous samples. It can become addictive, then I often weave a larger piece from my favorite sample. There is nothing more wonderful (even tea towels) to a big binder of samples.

        Like

  7. July 8, 2015 6:35 am

    That last picture is especially marvelous!

    Like

Leave a Reply

