Skip to content

challenges

June 28, 2015

little mistakes add up

P1070132 boulevard weave – 10 harnesses/shafts – plus 2 extra for the selvedges

I find it difficult to work with these colours

the camera didn’t like them either but this is fairly close

they are 4 of the 7 Treadle Lightly official colours

and I thought I needed a challenge!

there were problems at every step

at one point I cut it all off and re-threaded the heddles

P1070134pegging the dobby bars took a very long time

when it was finally time to weave mistakes were difficult to see

 this one became obvious after taking a picture

P1070117meanwhile the shibori stitching was going slowly

I was ready to quit and call it a sample when I saw Ogata-san’s mokume shibori,  on  Japanese Textile Workshops (June 24)

she is 97 and 3/4 – if she can do it so can I

P1070122this is it after the first dip

many more to go.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2015 1:02 pm

    hm, Those aren’t my favourite colours either, but you are a master of sticktoitiveness, and seem to be getting somewhere!

    Like

    • June 28, 2015 1:13 pm

      Kjerstin – thought I better get more friendly with conference colours, the rest is just plain old Irish stubborness.

      Like

  2. June 29, 2015 2:00 am

    pink & yellow is an unusual combination. and i agree if ogata-san can do it we surely can.

    Like

    • June 29, 2015 6:54 am

      Neki – I can, and do, use pink and yellow together but the addition of orange is too much, Ogata-san has experienced more than most, it has made her strong.

      Like

  3. June 29, 2015 3:22 am

    Ick–I’d have trouble using those colors, too! But you seem to be beating them onto submission!

    Like

  4. vdbolyard permalink
    June 29, 2015 3:56 am

    ogata-san is my hero! so are you.

    Like

    • June 29, 2015 6:48 am

      Velma – Ogata-san is truly amazing. thank you but I haven’t reached hero status – yet! have a few years to go.

      Like

  5. June 29, 2015 7:48 am

    I think the trick is not so much to live to be very old but to still be able to do exciting things! The world needs role models like adorable Ogata-san.

    Hmmm…persistence or not, that weave is just not doing it for me. Not so much the colours but maybe their proportions? Or the structure? Somethin’! Have you tried finishing a sample to see what happens then?

    Like

    • June 29, 2015 9:22 am

      Louisa – to be Ogata-san’s age and still be creatively active body/mind and soul is the greatest achievement. This is the sample warp, more to come and not “finished” yet. It is the structure I’m sampling but it doesn’t look like it will become a favorite, it was a lot of work and I’m asking myself “why bother”? Still, it’s not the finished result that matters but the things learned.

      Like

  6. June 29, 2015 10:58 am

    I agree with Louisa that the weave structure might be fighting the hot colours. They are not the colours I associate you with of course, more tropical than cool Northern blue. A challenge for sure, but I know you will conquer it!

    Like

    • June 29, 2015 11:06 am

      Heather – the colours were selected in an attempt to use conference colours, I wasn’t involved in their choice but am on the board so wanted to give them a try. The colours I used when designing the prize ribbons were more on the blue side. This warp was all about the weave structure, new to me, I designed the draft from a small picture, had to turn it to use on my loom and when I finish this 2 yard sample I have plans for some changes – in different colours.

      Like

Leave a Reply

