Skip to content

Summer threads

June 24, 2015

enjoying the summer thyme

P1070068

looking for some better quality fabric to use in my Strippy quilt

I found these huck towels in the consignment store

P1070110don’t gasp, Kerry, I’ve decided they are too fine to cut up

which only adds to the stash and doesn’t solve my need

P1070109one of them has a weaving mistake, the factory loom hiccupped

P1070113and this Japanese bowl with a traditional wave pattern, frequently seen on textiles

 a different spatter pattern on the outside

inspiration for indigo dyeing and sashiko

P1070111and – some printer’s letters to add to my collection

what I thought was an”e” turned out to be a 6 or 9

that’s the thrill of the hunt!

but, what’s next?

P1070112sampling – Boulevard weave, new to me and difficult to find information

one small picture in the book  8, 12…20 by Kathryn Wertenberger

spent far too much time playing on Fiberworks

decided I had to turn the draft, which made it look upsidedown to my now muddled brain

printed the threading, cut it apart and now I can see it will work

why all this work?

TREADLE LIGHTLY–the ANWG Conference 2017 at UVic in Victoria

P1070116looking for a weave structure where I can blend several of the conference colours

stay tuned to see how this works

P1070106and if you come to the conference , take the time for a stroll on the beach.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2015 3:15 am

    Yikes! I’m glad you didn’t cut those towels up! Once again, if you tell me what kind of fabric you’re looking for, I have a LOT of old damask tablecloths, etc., with enough damage that I can’t sell them but with a great deal of usable fabric! I’m glad to see you’ve identified a challenging new weaving direction–and I’m interested to see the progress!

    Like

    • June 25, 2015 6:56 am

      Kerry – thanks Kerry – I don’t really know what I need, once I start cutting up the dyed/pattern fabrics I’ll have a better idea, at the end of the summer. This weaving may be a little challenging.

      Like

  2. June 25, 2015 9:18 am

    I love old textiles too and I usually just use them as is. Can’t bear to cut them up unless they are seriously damaged. Love the little flaw! I’m looking forward to ANWG 2017. I haven’t been to one for years! Lots of time to save my loonies.

    Like

    • June 25, 2015 9:28 am

      Louisa – we are working hard to make the conference a good one. UVic is a wonderful campus (if you haven’t been there for awhile it has grown and changed almost beyond recognition). I’m going to be working most of the time but the real treat for me will be meeting, in person, many people that I’ve only met online. See you there.

      Like

Leave a Reply

