Skip to content

what’s next?

June 21, 2015

the weaving is finished

P1070092the yarn in the dark warp stripe is handspun, 2 ply baby mohair

it didn’t full as much as the other warp yarns

that’s what happens sometimes when using handspun yarns, from the stash

c’est la vie!

P1070094 on the right, the weft is handspun,2 ply silk, lichen dyed

the weft on the left is an interesting commercial yarn available from Sanjo Silk

P1070086it is 3 threads of noil silk plyed with an extremely fine reeled silk

when the scarf came off the loom it was as stiff as a board

not what you want for a scarf

after a vigorous washing in synthrapol and a vinegar rinse it is soft and drapey

P1070091not the greatest picture but this shows the lace blocks in the pattern

so — what’s next?

I seem to be having a weaver’s block

 even considered that it may be time to move on

meanwhile it is back to the garden where I will think about it.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2015 12:40 am

    22 June 2015: Jean, “..to move on” but to where and to what do you have in mind? I shared your indigo shibori stars with The Hampshire Guild of Weavers, Spinners and Dyers the other day and so your inspiration is sent far and wide!

    Like

    • June 22, 2015 7:34 am

      M. – after 40+ years of weaving it is difficult to find the spark of inspiration that keeps me going. Thank you for sharing, when I started writing the blog I never realized how far reaching it would be but now it is my reason for continuing.

      Like

  2. June 22, 2015 2:40 am

    Move on from weaving?! Surely not! And what would you move on to? You’re a weaver!!

    Like

  3. June 22, 2015 8:42 am

    The scarves are lovely! I like the bit of seersucker texture that happened with the yarn that didn’t full as much. Now you can do whatever you like next. That’s the good thing about it not being a business and having to make money from your crafts – you can follow your bliss. Even take a break from one thing and do another. There are no rules! (Says the damselfly who happily flits from one thing to another with complete abandon…)

    Like

    • June 22, 2015 9:25 am

      Louisa – it’s the accumulation of various stashes that are getting to me – I produce too much, it all builds up, changing one pile to just another different pile. Too much stuff!

      Like

  4. trl710 permalink
    June 22, 2015 9:33 am

    I understand you taking a break–I took a very long one from weaving and just this past year returning to it. I find your draft for this scarf very interesting. Would you share it? What type of loom do you weave on?

    Like

    • June 22, 2015 1:36 pm

      tobie – I’m not talking about a break, if I made any changes it would be final. For one thing I’m to old to be thinking about long breaks, storing major equipment etc. I weave on a 16 harness/shaft AVL mechanical dobby loom. The pattern is available in the book listed on the blog, likely available at a good library. As I don’t recall having heard from you before I would like to know more about what you weave etc. before sharing the draft. You can email me at mjbetts@telus.net.

      Like

  5. June 23, 2015 1:35 am

    laura fry is right, magic in the water.very attractive scarves.

    Like

  6. vdbolyard permalink
    June 24, 2015 2:42 am

    lovely, really.

    Like

Leave a Reply

