Skip to content

stars in my eyes

June 18, 2015

another gatheringP1070049summer has come to mean indigo and shibori

this one is stitched and wrapped

by the time it was finished my fingers were sore

after 12 or 13 dips – I lost count – in the indigo

and drying overnight

the exciting part P1070052very carefully removing all the threads

 it was worth the work

P1070054each star is a little bit different

P1070056it is the slight irregularities that keep drawing me back to shibori

what’s next?

P1070063a different pattern

I had to get some new fabric – this is the best I could find

it wasn’t cheap and I’m not impressed

who weaves this stuff??

the marker pen was fading out as fast as I was finishing a line

finally I had to go over each line three times

I’ll see how long it is visible before proceeding

P1070060five balls of thick and thin cotton knitting yarn had been in my stash for years

wound into skeins it dyed a nice dark colour with only ten dips

weft for weaving.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Judi Bushby permalink
    June 18, 2015 4:21 pm

    Love those little stars. Some very careful stitching there. Dyeing in indigo is so addictive. Just love the surprises.

    Like

  2. June 18, 2015 5:01 pm

    Oh my Jean, the stars are incredible. Fantastic work!

    Like

  3. June 18, 2015 6:44 pm

    Love the shibori. I always find your indigo work inspiring.

    Like

  4. June 19, 2015 2:58 am

    I’ve said that I will never get into dyeing . . . but when I see what you come up with, I get really tempted. (And I said, for years, I would never take up weaving . . . .)

    Like

  5. Lis permalink
    June 19, 2015 4:46 am

    Big smiling face, love your stars.

    Like

  6. June 19, 2015 6:59 am

    Beautiful constellation!

    Like

  7. June 19, 2015 8:33 am

    The stars are just lovely! Taking the time for many dips is so worth it for the depth of colour. And yes, I’ve definitely noticed that the quality of some fabrics has gone seriously downhill. That’s one reason why I won’t order it online. I need to feel it first! But sometimes you can’t really tell until you wash it because of all the deceiving finishes they put on it. Bleh.

    Like

    • June 19, 2015 9:03 am

      Louisa – I try to recycle old fabrics so when I am forced to buy new I’m always frustrated. As you say the manufacturers put so much sizing on that all washes out and leaves a limp rag. Yuck, not worth putting any more time and effort into them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

