Skip to content

books – new and old

June 14, 2015

a new warpP1070024warp and weft 2 ply handspun

silk- silk and mohair with blended colours – silk and camel

asking for trouble – again?

P1070025

one shuttle, I often use two or more so this should be quick

   threaded with plain weave on the selvedges so no float

behaving itself, weaving is soft and gentle

2 scarves, different wefts

P1070035the pattern, twill and lace blocks on 12 harnesses

found in this wonderful old book, printed in 1960

P1070037I also have a sample (green)

woven, in 1991, by Marguerite Schreiber for Cross Country Weavers

a retiring weaver gifted me her five binders of samples from the group

a wonderful treasure, than you Anne

they were a group of experienced weavers  who choose a project every year

and then exchanged marvelous, multi-shaft samples

the pattern would look splendid in linen!

and another giftP1070038the Spirit and Beauty of Korean handicrafts

visually stunning this book is a well researched introduction

 not only to Korean handicrafts but history and culture

 P1070041 it includes ceramics, paper, metal, wood and painting as well as fibre arts

P1070045and an inspiring chapter connecting the past with a hopeful future

P1070039written by Debbi Kent and Joan Suwalsky

another treasure

16 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2015 3:06 pm

    Well, I must tell you again, how much I enjoy your exhibits. This time it is the subtle warp colors, the precious sample books and the gem-like Koren thimbles Thank you.

    Like

    • June 14, 2015 4:33 pm

      Diana – you are welcome and thank you for leaving a comment, it is what makes blogging worthwhile.

      Like

  2. June 14, 2015 5:39 pm

    Beautiful colours as usual, Jean. I do love the texture in this lot.

    Like

    • June 14, 2015 6:41 pm

      Myra – I like these colours, too but they don’t sell well. Can’t decide what colour the second weft will be.

      Like

  3. June 15, 2015 3:23 am

    I’m surprised those colors don’t sell well–they seem so versatile! But, then, I’m a bit of a peahen when it comes to color. I have a book that has woven samples of a zillion weaves in different fibers and explanations of all . . . in French. I pore over the book and wish I could understand more!

    Like

    • June 15, 2015 7:17 am

      Kerry – sounds like an interesting book, is it for hand weaving? How many shafts? You just have to read the draw downs to try weaving them.

      Like

      • June 16, 2015 4:00 am

        I don’t think it’s really for hand weaving. It seems to be a sort of textbook for a textiles program in Quebec. Still fascinating!

        Like

      • June 16, 2015 7:10 am

        Kerry – you find the most amazing things.

        Like

  4. June 15, 2015 3:58 am

    what a wonderful gift, sample books!

    Like

  5. June 15, 2015 3:20 pm

    The Finnish book is a gem. It was one of the first books in my weaving library, and I used to pore over it as a beginning weaver. Your new warp is a gem, too.

    Like

    • June 15, 2015 4:13 pm

      Alice – you are right it is wonderful, don’t think many new weavers would give it a second glance – no colour or flashy photos. They don’t know what they are missing. I have another Finnish book, it is not in English, published in 1956 with English notes in a 1958 Shuttlecraft (which I also have). The linens look perfect.

      Like

  6. vdbolyard permalink
    June 15, 2015 6:31 pm

    just love your new weaving–

    Like

  7. June 16, 2015 8:32 am

    What a lovely weave structure! I love those old books and was sad when my guild tossed a whole bunch when we had a mould issue where we keep our library. I still have a photocopy version of a little book on Finnish leno, in Finnish of course, from when I learned how do do that technique. That’s one of the books that got chucked so I’m glad I still have this. I can read the diagrams even if I can’t read the words!

    Like

    • June 16, 2015 9:14 am

      Louisa – some of those old books have more info than the new glossy ones. That’s what is so great about weaving, you can always read the drafts no matter what the language.

      Like

Leave a Reply

