Skip to content

everything is blue again

May 3, 2015

now that the weather is warming up it is back to the indigo vat

P1060797handspun cotton

handspun silk dyed last year with lichen and top dyed

P1060796cotton tablecloth dyed 2 years ago with just the horizontal stripes

folded, board clamped and dyed again

P1060798silk organza that soaked up the dye

wish I could remember where I bought this!

P1060800this fabric is a silk/linen blend from Sanjo Silk

P1060801

it is crisp and fine and wonderful

and I know where to get more!

first I dyed a half width of 1 metre

stitched, gathered and pole wrapped

in the top right of the picture you can see the back which was against the pole and resisted the dye

on the left is the other half width ready to go

P1060802

this pattern will be a little different – I think

one of the reasons I enjoy shibori, there is often an element of surprise

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2015 3:30 pm

    I love it when your indigo vat is going especially when you are doing shibori. My indigo seedlings are still small, but they did sprout!

    Like

    • May 3, 2015 5:44 pm

      Diana – what type of indigo? I tried planting directly in the ground but don’t think that has been successful. Will plant out the seedlings this week. I only grow it for fun, what I dye with seriously is powered indigo from Maiwa.

      Like

  2. May 4, 2015 2:59 am

    Oh, you must be happy to be back to indigo season!

    Like

  3. Lis permalink
    May 4, 2015 3:07 am

    Perfect.

    Like

  4. May 4, 2015 6:29 am

    Rows of teeth.

    Like

    • May 4, 2015 7:39 am

      Alice – someone is grinning
      Lis – very happy with this one
      Kerry – it has become a very summer thing

      Like

  5. May 4, 2015 9:36 am

    Lovely shibori! Is yours vat a fermentation vat? My dye study group is getting ready to dip our shibori experiments this week but ours will be a quick lye/thiox vat. I have to go find more things to dye blue! And tidy up the dye studio in case we can’t work outside…

    Like

    • May 4, 2015 1:18 pm

      Louisa – I have a 30 gal. vat that permanently lives outside, it is natural indigo, thiox and calx (slaked lime). I tried many different vats, this is the one that works for me and I can maintain over time. It’s on its second year now. The only drawback – you have to work outside – raindrops splashing introduce oxygen!

      Like

  6. Heather permalink
    May 11, 2015 1:04 am

    I love your blog! Makes me want to move immediately to the West Coast. The indigo shibori you’re doing is gorgeous. Can I join you for a workshop in June?!

    Like

    • May 11, 2015 8:26 am

      Heather- the wet coast definitely has its advantages, but it can be grey and rainy. Shibori so fun, if you are coming this way let me know.

      Like

Leave a Reply

