Skip to content

tip toe through the tulips

April 7, 2015

the tulips are blooming – so far the roaming deer haven’t invaded my garden

tulips are one of their favorites

P1060632mine, too

P1060638digging in the garden – the robins are behind me

P1060641looking for a tasty worm

P1060647it is very comforting to spin by the fire on cold winter evenings

but, there is no longer a need for a fire

so the spinning has slowed down

P1060650and it is back to the stitching

one of my students has nifty little LED lights on her loom

so I went off to the hardware store to buy some for my loom

P1060651

but I’m not the greatest home handy-woman

they’re not the same size – and way too long

but they came with hooks and ties and screws – very handy

except I didn’t want to drill holes in my loom, and the ties weren’t long enough

P1060652so I tied them on with cotton rug warp – works fine

they reach around the front of the loom and then around the back

with approx. 3 feet extra

now my loom looks like a Christmas tree

not exactly what I was hoping for

but the extra light is good

should I take them back? they won’t roll up neatly and fit back into the box

maybe I should buy a wider loom?

oh, gee whiz!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2015 5:59 pm

    I love the lights on your loom – very festive. And the extra light might be helpful at times.

    Like

  2. April 7, 2015 6:53 pm

    what glorious color, such magnificent tulips!! the lights, if the extra lighting helps, great. or if you need to save for xmas decorations, fine. but if you’re not completely happy, try to return (i bet you could get them back in the box…)!

    Like

  3. Ann Harvard permalink
    April 7, 2015 10:41 pm

    The lights I’ve got are peel and stick Jean, but I think yours are way cooler than mine! Maybe Vegas or wherever your imagination takes you.

    Like

    • April 8, 2015 7:28 am

      Ann – I couldn’t find anything else at Home Hardware but knew as soon as I got them home they weren’t the same. Think my loom is rather embarrassed- it’s party time!

      Like

  4. April 8, 2015 6:13 am

    I have some very laggardly tulips in a bowl I should send to you for encouragement! I have Fairy lights up all year, around the French Door and the picture window in our dining room – I never thought of using them on my loom -good idea!

    Like

    • April 8, 2015 7:26 am

      Kjerstin – the tulips have been there for more than 20 years and put on a good show every year. I may move the lights and get the smaller ones for the loom, they do give quite a bit of extra light.

      Like

  5. April 8, 2015 8:52 am

    You shouldn’t have a problem returning the lights if they don’t work for you. Though your loom does look very festive! Being able to see what you’re doing becomes more and more of an issue every year, doesn’t it?

    Like

    • April 8, 2015 9:17 am

      Louisa – it definitely is nice to see those little mistakes when they happen and not after you have taken them off the loom!

      Like

  6. April 8, 2015 2:18 pm

    Oh. Tuliips. I remember tulips. And robins. From a long time ago . . . Bitter? Who, me?! The lights on the loom make a lot of sense (even if it does look a bit like the Starship Enterprise!) 😉

    Like

    • April 8, 2015 3:24 pm

      Kerry – I’m about to blast off. Doing my income tax and the internet/telephone/t.v. man (I think he was about 17) has been here for 2 1/2 hours, now I have high speed wireless everything and it seems the problem was my old t.v. and I didn’t need any of this !! Off to smell the flowers.

      Like

Leave a Reply

