Skip to content

more colour blending

March 3, 2015

still working on the stash

so many colour changes make the warping SLOW

tea towels again – for the Studio Tour in April

P1060488

P1060487

there is a pattern in the colour and block repeats

I like to mix it up a little

P1060506

the results are very Spring-ish

P1060507a 10 harness double two-tie unit weave

using only one colour for the weft the weaving is going quickly

white weft for the first towel, yellow for the second

now back to the loom

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2015 10:30 am

    Stripes! Love them. You have broken these up so nicely. I’m sure they will fly out the door.

    Like

  2. March 3, 2015 10:37 am

    goodness you women amaze me! my warps never look so tidy during the process.

    Like

    • March 3, 2015 12:19 pm

      Neki – if you look back a couple blogs you will see it in a messy state. I like keeping my warp process as clean as possible.

      Like

  3. March 3, 2015 3:04 pm

    Love the colours and stripes. Very pretty. Luxury tea towels!

    Like

    • March 3, 2015 3:30 pm

      Myra – handwoven tea towels are an everyday item for weavers, couldn’t live without them. The brighter the better.

      Like

  4. March 4, 2015 9:44 am

    You are totally right – handwoven tea towels are for everyday. I actually threw out all my non-handwoven ones! They weren’t nearly as nice and absorbent. Yours are very pretty!

    Like

    • March 4, 2015 10:01 am

      Louisa – I give tea towels to a non-weaving friend. She would fold them nicely and display them in a basket – unused. I wrote a poem about how weavers used and loved them and how they needed to be used. She got the message – and more towels!

      Like

  5. March 5, 2015 3:53 am

    I keep telling myself I should be choosing spring colors, to lighten the mood of this endless winter in the northeast! And yet, I seem to be drawn back, always, to muted tones. I need to force myself out of the rut!

    Like

    • March 5, 2015 7:50 am

      Kerry – I just take colours from “the stash”, didn’t realize they were so spring-ish until I saw the picture. Spring – and spring colours will come – eventually.

      Like

Leave a Reply

