Skip to content

simple pleasures

March 1, 2015

the days are changing so quickly – hard to believe it’s March 1st P1060492

one of the second-hand stores on my route

puts pretty little labels on every item – it drives me crazy

“china tea cup, picture frame, old box,” etc.

last week there was a lonely little kokeshi doll – the label read  “don’t know” !

she wasn’t expensive, I didn’t need her and she wasn’t particularly special

but she needed a friend

P1060499so here she is – at the back on the left – I’ve named her Donoko

she arrived at the same time as this book

P1060500

written by Manami Okazaki, all the proceeds from the book go to the Tohoku relief fund

for the victims and survivors of the 3.11 earthquake and tsunami

the two kokeshi beside the book are my first

I think they were clutched in a hot little hand until the design and finish was mostly worn off

On her blog Love Those “Hands at Home”

Kerry has shown pictures of the most remarkable fashions all created in paper

even the buttons and lace

from The Museum of Costume and Textile of Quebec

P1060501because I’ve been working on details for Treadle Lightly

and my brain is full of Conference thoughts

I decided to try making recycled paper flowers

with the help of the book Paper Flowers  by Denise Brown

I started with roses, shopping bag paper and the small white one is from the inside of an envelope

if I make a dozen flowers every week for 2 1/2 years I’ll have 130 dozen flowers – ha ha!

P1060497

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2015 3:00 pm

    Your paper roses are pretty – they look a bit like some First Nations cedar bark ones I’ve seen.

    Like

    • March 1, 2015 3:04 pm

      Kjerstin – you’re right, I hadn’t thought of that but I’ve seen something similar done with burlap. It will be fun trying different paper and saving it from the recycle.

      Like

  2. March 1, 2015 3:05 pm

    It’s the tag end of a hot humid summer down here. Cant wait for the cooler weather.

    Like

    • March 1, 2015 3:12 pm

      Myra – weather seems crazy around the world. The East coast of North America has had the worst winter in decades and it just doesn’t seem to stop. Here in Victoria we are just feeling lucky.

      Like

  3. March 1, 2015 3:27 pm

    I think the doll was waiting for you to find her – just the person who would appreciate her!

    Like

  4. March 2, 2015 5:17 am

    I’m glad you brought the little doll home–she would’ve been so sad and lonely. So pleased you liked the paper dresses–I need to find the actual museum now and see what other treasures they have. What are those flowers in the first photo? SUCH a gorgeous color!

    Like

    • March 2, 2015 7:26 am

      Kerry – it looks like the museum has some very interesting exhibits, wish I was closer.The flowers are on a very old, big quince bush that has to be pruned twice a year, it has fruit in the Fall that is good for jam.

      Like

  5. March 2, 2015 9:42 am

    Love your little kokeshi and glad you adopted her! I’m sure she’s happier with her peeps. 😉
    Those poor folks back east are complaining about our weather bragging. Showing off photos of spring flowers just makes them grumpier. Sorry, not sorry. (Pretty quince! That’s one I don’t have anymore.)

    Like

    • March 2, 2015 12:35 pm

      Louisa – yep! really glad I’m here on the wet coast. just come from a conference planning meeting, my head is buzzing.

      Like

  6. March 3, 2015 10:36 am

    your very own hina matsuri!

    Like

  7. March 6, 2015 9:32 am

    You have got quite a collection of kokeshi dolls. And I am happy for Donoko! (I am just starting to learn Japanese – does her name means something like – “who is that girl? “

    Like

    • March 6, 2015 10:24 am

      Alfia – Donoko is a play on Japanese and English — “ko” is a common ending on Japanese female names (translated as flower) in Japanese consonants and vowels are grouped together. dono is my interpretation of the label from the store “don’t know”. She just seemed so un-loved she needed a name.

      Like

Leave a Reply

