Skip to content

increasing light

February 7, 2015

stormy weather – over the Strait of Juan de Fuca

we have had torrential rain but the small Northern town I was brought up in has had 120 cm. (47 inches) of snow in 24 hours

I am not complaining!

P1060420

a good day to stay in and weave

designing and stitching the blocks for my latest boro piece

P1060439

the last corner ready to go together

P1060431

then I can clean up my mess – piles of scraps everywhere

P1060440

and the fun begins

kantha stitching on many of the blocks

and feathers, to repeat the bird theme

also a good time to clean closets

I spent 2 days searching for something and then remembered I had taken it to a charity shop

ha! – a good excuse not to clean, sort and reduce

P1060433

but I found these – old lesson boards from my interior design days

lessons I still apply to all my work

creating unity depends on

balance, harmony and rhythm

together with the basic elements of design

line, form, space, light/colour and texture

P1060424the light comes and goes

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2015 11:45 pm

    Lovely post, Jean!

    Like

  2. February 8, 2015 8:15 am

    That’s my biggest concern with destashing – that I’ll need something desperately the day after I get rid of it! Love your boro pieces.

    Like

  3. February 8, 2015 12:58 pm

    wonderful scraps, that red enlivens the whole bunch

    Like

    • February 8, 2015 1:03 pm

      Velma – a little bit of red goes a long way to brightening scraps. I love the indigo but sometimes it needs a jolt.

      Like

Leave a Reply

