Skip to content

little things mean alot

January 26, 2015

I’m stuck – trying to design prize ribbons for the conference

don’t even know if this is in my job description??

P1060378several from past conferences give me some ideas

there are 6 colours plus grey

P1060377it is extremely difficult to find a weave structure that compliments all 6

and the grey makes everything dull

I’ve tried several weave structures

including a name draft in overshot

this twill stripe in cotton on a natural linen background

is my favorite so far

the purpose of the blue weft stripe – a different colour for first, second and third prize

my Fiberworks software is getting a workout

think I’m going to have to weave some samples

the printer quit working but it’s back again!

I lost a crown and had to visit the dentist – the bill is staggering

tell me I’m having fun!!

P1060380stitching is progressing – slowly

the hairy hemp is stalled

P1060383a few feathers are floating around

including handwoven fabric has changed the way the blocks go together

even fine handwovens can fray easily

finally, here is a picture for AliceP1060371waiting room upholstery

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2015 8:02 pm

    Sounds like a slightly frustrating day. Tomorrow will be better!

    Like

  2. January 28, 2015 5:01 am

    Good upholstery catch! Thank you for that.

    Like

  3. January 28, 2015 5:12 am

    Good heavens–you need to have some fun! I’ve been wondering about weaving software–is Fiberworks something new weavers could make sense of?

    Like

    • January 28, 2015 8:30 am

      Kerry – think the best advice regarding software is to download the trial offer and try it for the limited time and see if it works for you.

      Like

  4. January 28, 2015 10:45 am

    Some weeks are just like that, Jean dear. Moving on, right?

    I love Fiberworks PCW and can’t weave without it! I’ve had so many versions since way back in the DOS era. Yikes! It’s being able to play with a weave structure and get it just right without having to draw it all out by hand (which of course I wouldn’t bother). It helps me envision the results more clearly and to find the best and most efficient way to weave it. Indispensable!

    Like

    • January 28, 2015 11:11 am

      Louisa – I remember the days of hand drawn weave structures – never again. Have you seen those little scraps of precious paper in museums with complicated overshot patterns drawn by candlelight??? It’s a wonder weavers ever moved beyond plain weave and twill. Ever onward.

      Like

  5. velma bolyard permalink
    January 29, 2015 3:15 am

    jean-the dentist’s waiting room upholstrey? it’s been a year of dentist bills here. i remember getting a fun second place award from the midwest weavers a hundred years ago…it was woven and felted and included the state of indiana!

    Like

    • January 29, 2015 8:38 am

      Velma – that was the Dr.’s upholstery, I’ll look at the dentist’s next week! a guild from “away” has volunteered to weave the ribbons so I am designing weaving for people I’ve never met, it has been an interesting process – live and keep learning!

      Like

Leave a Reply

