Skip to content

links of interest

January 13, 2015

thanks to everyone who offered tips on how to deal with my hairy hempP1060323one yard woven and only one broken warp thread

there in the middle of the dark indigo stripe

I’m controlling the hairy hemp with spray starch

and my Japanese “green glue” (a type of quick and easy rice paste in a green plastic squeezy tube)

it is used as a paper glue and I use it when making books

just squeeze a tiny bit on a finger and smooth it down an individual thread

my classmates at Kawashima taught me this trick in 1987

I have found a similar product called NORI, at the art supply store

available from Yasutomo Co.  http://www.yasutomo.com

they have a wonderful selection of pens, inks and craft items

my friend Heather, at True Stitches, is preparing to teach a class in making amulets

she is sharing her work and inviting people to experiment and share along with her

http://www.truestitches.blogspot.ca

P1060325assembling my bits and pieces

and finding inspiration in Sheila Paine’s book Amulets

Kerry at Love Those Hands at Home

http://www.lovethosehandsathome.wordpress.com

has posted the “Craftman’s Creed” a poem by James Parton Haney

and some very meaningful words on crafting by hand

have a look

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2015 12:32 pm

    Thanks for linking to me. I can’t wait to see what you make! And I liked your other link to Love Those Hands at Home, what lovely writing she does!

    Like

  2. January 13, 2015 3:01 pm

    What beautiful luminous colours, Jean. You have surpassed yourself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

