Skip to content

lessons to be learned

January 10, 2015

there is one thing that is certain about weaving

you can never be absolutely certain about anything

there are too many variables

P1060316

after 40+ years of weaving one would think I would be sensible

well – not always

the yarns are cotton – O.K..  cotton/hemp blend – strong and just a little fuzzy

singles handspun hemp – very strong but it is extremely hairy, like tow linen

it clings to itself, frays and is difficult to make a shed

what was I thinking??

P1060299and 7 different colours

but they’re pretty, don’t you think?

P1060295then there is all that threading

P1060297and sleying – 2 to a dent in a 15 dent reed

 spray starch tames the hairy threads – almost

P1060310testing out all the colours at the start

so far so good

the pattern is from Handwoven magazine, March/April 2011

an article by Sarah Jackson titled

“Color gradations in summer and winter”

I like the summer and winter weave structure

and this has a slightly different twist to it

it involves 2 colours in each block with the pattern colour becoming the tabby colour in the next block

no daydreaming allowed, have to keep my wits about me

P1060311but there are 6 yards to weave and I’m wondering if the hemp and I will make it to the end.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2015 8:51 am

    The colours are really pretty! I think it’s worth trying to hang in there as long as you can.. This one reminds me of my Warp From H-E-Double-Hockey-Sticks! It was a slog but I love the resultant waffle towels. Hemp was involved too but it was my handspun hemp/cotton accent that was the real culprit. I used flax seed gel to tame it and lots of spritzing with water to dampen and humidify. Helped a lot.

    Like

    • January 11, 2015 8:58 am

      Louisa – thanks for the tips. It is only the dark indigo blue that is the problem, I should have sized the skein, time will tell.

      Like

  2. velma bolyard permalink
    January 11, 2015 8:59 am

    oh, that hairy yarn…it’s such a nuisance. good luck, the colors are great together.

    Like

  3. January 11, 2015 10:37 am

    This will be a real test of character. But the colors & design are wonderful. I think you will prevail.

    Like

  4. January 11, 2015 2:06 pm

    It’s a good thing the colors are so yummy–that just might make the hassles worthwhile!

    Like

  5. January 11, 2015 6:49 pm

    Love the natural colours. Will they be tea towels perhaps? If so, I would like to buy one…Please save one for me!

    Like

    • January 11, 2015 8:10 pm

      Hi Kathy – I was planning on lining for a vest, will have to see how it weaves up but don’t think it will be strong enough for tea towels.

      Like

  6. Renee' permalink
    January 12, 2015 2:32 am

    Is that the color experiment from the other day?

    Like

    • January 12, 2015 8:29 am

      Renee’ – yes, the first picture was winding (measuring) the warp on a horizontal warping mill.

      Like

  7. January 13, 2015 1:04 am

    great colorway.i keep a cake of beeswax to tame hairy yarns. rub as i weave.

    Like

    • January 13, 2015 7:56 am

      thanks Neki – don’t think that would work on this one. I’m using my Japanese “green glue” and spray starch it works for the worst of it and washes out easily.

      Like

Leave a Reply

