Skip to content

bits and pieces

November 30, 2014

a surprise dusting of snow and chilly temperatures P1060038

yesterday was spent at a major craft fair, inside where it was crowded and warm

 P1060040

there was some wonderful creative work

and a lot of the same old “stuff”

great pottery

I didn’t get a picture of my favorite booth – but I did get a piece that had my name on it!

P1060050

from Red Pot Pottery

the potter is Korean and her work is charming

much of her work is very bright and colourful, it’s on my list for next time

also this small bowl and spoon

P1060046from Jamie Willms

as if I need more pottery!

the eyelash shawl is washed, soft and fuzzy

P1060031

shimacho are Japanese textile sample books

usually handwoven stripes, many indigo dyed

young brides took a book, with family patterns, to their new home

these books are becoming scarce and cost a fortune

P1060053I’ve started to make one of my own

using both Japanese fabric scraps and my own handwoven

P1060056

Velma‘s beautiful handmade paper for pages

my favorite glue – Japanese rice paste in a green squeez-y tube

(I’ll have to make a special trip to Japan to get more!)

it will be stitched together with a Japanese stab binding

with indigo dyed linen covers

8 Comments leave one →
  1. velma bolyard permalink
    November 30, 2014 3:22 pm

    ooo! i am so proud to have my papers be the substrate!!! let me know if you need more.

    Like

    • November 30, 2014 5:03 pm

      Velma – thank you for the offer, I’m going to be o.k. with the generous selection you sent a time ago. I’m having fun.

      Like

  2. November 30, 2014 3:55 pm

    Tansy and I were at the same Craft fair – and walked home through Beacon Hill Park and along the waterfront…we were carrying three beautiful ceramics from Denman Island, two glass bowls, a handful of stone beads, and a tiny treasure for the Hittys! I look forward to hearing more about the sample book!

    Like

    • November 30, 2014 5:00 pm

      Kjerstin – you had a good time shopping, I had to restrain myself. sorry my friend didn’t meet Tansy.

      Like

  3. December 2, 2014 8:59 pm

    I too tend to fall for the pottery. Must be because it’s not one of the things that I do! As I always say, I’ve done just enough ceramics to let the talented ones do it instead. 😉

    Your book is going to be such a treasure!

    Like

    • December 2, 2014 10:07 pm

      Louisa – I studied pottery years ago – while living on a sailboat with 2 small kids, how convenient was that? still working on the book.

      Like

  4. December 9, 2014 1:29 am

    in love w the sample book

    Like

Leave a Reply

