Skip to content

ripples in time

November 22, 2014

I am fascinated with the pattern and texture that kantha stitching makes on the reverse side

P1050980it reminds me of ripples in the sand

beach scenes 048

in some areas the stitching is through 3 – 4 and occasionally 5 layers of cloth

it adds considerable weight to the piece

and also surprising strength to the cloth

P1050978the brown fabric is linen dyed with kakishibu

it is stiff almost like canvas and difficult to stitch

my fingers are calloused and the needle is bent

it is a day between winter storms

P1050995the beach is piled high with driftwood

P1050994across the road in Ross Bay Cemetery

P1050997I filled my pockets with windfall lichen

and caught up on local history

P1050996as a child my Mom used to take us to Barkerville where we could pan for gold

(click to read)

P1050998women were strong in pioneer days

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2014 5:52 pm

    You might laugh, but I use pliers to pull the needle through when I stitch stiff or thick fabrics.

    Like

    • November 22, 2014 6:12 pm

      Deb – no laughter, I put masking tape on the “teeth” of the pliers so the needle doesn’t get scratched or marked.

      Like

    • Lis permalink
      November 23, 2014 12:41 am

      Me too, unless I am too idle to get them and use my teeth, yes, I know!!!

      Like

      • November 23, 2014 7:41 am

        Lis – at a certain age one becomes very aware of damage to body parts and the need to keep functioning. Teeth, too!

        Like

  2. Lis permalink
    November 23, 2014 12:40 am

    Lovely images, except for the damage to your hands. We are strong still, but in different ways.

    Like

  3. November 23, 2014 10:10 am

    might i suggest an awl? i, too, have broken needles, and bent them. in fact, a gentle bend is often a lovely thing.

    Like

    • November 23, 2014 10:29 am

      Velma – making all those closely spaced holes might discourage me from stitching forever. the pliers work on really stuck stitches. the answer is not to use kakishibu dyed linen over several layers of cloth.

      Like

  4. November 24, 2014 12:42 am

    Love love LOVE Kantha stitching! Your piece is wonderful. I tend to choose lighter weight fabrics but sometimes even these onerlap and create and thickness I am not prepared for. Never thought pliers…certainly not my teeth! Its fun how we all learn from each other.

    Like

  5. November 24, 2014 3:25 am

    Here’s another idea for getting needles through tough fabrics. In the first aid section of the drugstore, look for finger cots–they look like little condoms and are used for protecting injuries on fingers, I guess. I wear one on my index finger while I quilt and the little bit of latex (?) gives me extra gripping power since the needle doesn’t slip.

    Like

    • November 24, 2014 8:42 am

      Kerry – great idea, thanks for the tip.
      Judy – I am deliberately stitching through several layers of thin, worn out fabrics. the really tough areas are fabric dyed with kakishibu.

      Like

Leave a Reply

