Skip to content

what if?

October 2, 2014

Please note: some pictures in this post have been removed at the request of Jane Callender

the weather stays reasonably warm – and it doesn’t rain

I can dye shibori samples

to remind myself of the techniques learned in the workshop

two cotton pieces folded in half and then accordion folded in pie shapes

one piece stitched, the other block resisted

the one on the right is boring

so

better?

stitched and pole wrapped

I like this one – it has possibilities

P1050779

weaving the pinwheel pattern as stripes

white weft and indigo weft

I plan to top dye the white weft in indigo

weaving like crazy to get it off the loom and into the vat

P1050777

I have help!

she keeps spinning down to have a look

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2014 4:43 pm

    i’m not so fond of this kind of weaver, though i have deep respect.

    Like

    • October 2, 2014 4:56 pm

      Velma – I don’t mind most, as long as they are little. It’s tarantulas that freak me out – we saw them on shore ( in the shower once!!) while cruising in the Caribbean. Have you solved your cookie problem?

      Like

    • October 5, 2014 3:15 pm

      i have been in denial and have other things pressing, but it hasn’t disappeared as far as i know.

      Like

      • October 5, 2014 5:40 pm

        Velma – it is strange, a year ago I couldn’t leave a message on any blogger site, I just kept trying and eventually it got better. I haven’t had a problem so far but I know how frustrating it can be.

        Like

  2. October 2, 2014 5:35 pm

    I love all the patterns – simple and classic. They all complement each other so well.

    Like

  3. October 3, 2014 12:59 am

    the pole wrapped one looks good. now that it stopped raining-finally- i’ll do the last dips of the season.
    not appreciative of your helper 😦

    Like

    • October 3, 2014 7:54 am

      Neki – my helper is tiny and very inquisitive.
      Kjerstin – Halloween soon – what’s a few cobwebs hanging around. I’m surprised that the indigo vat is still working as our nights get colder.

      Like

  4. October 3, 2014 4:04 am

    That must be the goddess, Arachne, visiting your loom!

    Like

    • October 3, 2014 7:52 am

      Kerry – the spiders are all coming in for the winter, I have moved her off the loom. wonder if the shed changing and beating gave her a headache?

      Like

  5. October 3, 2014 6:57 am

    I like the indigo experiments, I am looking forward to seeing what you do with the pinwheel topdyeing…and I am glad you are letting your weaver helper be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

