Skip to content

winter stash

September 28, 2014

the old sheets and pillowcases soaked up the indigo

they were left out overnight to drip and dry

P1050753and were steaming in the early morning sun

the pillow cases were embroidered – by my Mom – I’ll have to think of some way to use those bits

the rest will be torn into rags for weaving cushion tops

P1050756

the indigo seeds are ready, I’m picking some to get them before the first frost and leaving the rest to mature

like the squirrels I’m preparing for winter

P1050761dyes and chemicals from Maiwa

books

 Nomad  by Sibella Court – a beautiful coffee table book full of gorgeous pictures

New Potatoes – Tilleke Schwarz 

written in English and Dutch – my friend Anke will love it

wonderful pictures and explanations of her one-of-a-kind stories in stitches

shibori stencils by Jane Callender

fabulous fibres from the Silk Studio and Sanjo Silk

tussah silk to spin

two of Sanjo’s new silk yarns that are so yummie if I lived in town I would already be back for more

black silk eyelash yarn – click on the picture to enlarge so you can see how soft it is

underneath it all – a metre of silk/linen blend fabric to experiment with shibori

P1050758

a little stash of fabrics that I didn’t have time to play with at the workshop

but I did finish spinning the cotton

and managed to knit one cuff with my handspun

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2014 12:09 am

    The silk is gorgeous and the cotton amazing. I am not sure what color I was expecting it to be but that is lovely. I can’t wait to see what you do with the embroidered bits.

    Like

  2. September 29, 2014 2:57 am

    ohh thanks for the sanjo link. another place to dream about

    Like

    • September 29, 2014 7:35 am

      Neki – more to come , Sanjo is the relatively new name for the silk collection at the Silk Studio. The tiny shop/gallery is my first stop when on Granville Is..

      Renee’ – the embroidery bits will definitely take some thinking about.

      Like

  3. September 30, 2014 3:26 am

    oh WOW!!!

    Like

    • September 30, 2014 8:32 am

      Velma – the weather is changing almost hourly, definitely time to be prepared.
      Kerry – squirrels are everywhere. Do you think they know something we don’t?

      Like

  4. September 30, 2014 4:41 am

    So much to ogle and ponder here! As you can guess, I love the vintage linens and embroidery and love seeing them get a new life. Funny that you and I are both making references to squirrels these days!

    Like

Leave a Reply

