Skip to content

cookies – anyone?

September 10, 2014

weaving pinwheels

P1050555the first pattern is – boring

P1050556

a change of tie-up

 the second pattern is much better

P1050559and the circles are easy

indigo dyed linen and bleached cotton

P1050553

the 8 harness/shaft LeClerc  “Voyageur” with folding table stand is a very nice student loom

P1050554Carly is doing a beautiful job on her first weaving – a log cabin scarf

she has inherited her grandmother’s floor loom and is going to be a great weaver

way to go, girl!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Betty permalink
    September 10, 2014 3:46 pm

    Love the change in you navy/white design.
    It is much easier on my eyes, more interesting too.
    Clever lady!

    Like

  2. emilysuzanna permalink
    September 10, 2014 4:37 pm

    I love that second pattern. Am wondering if you ever sell these as tea towels…in an online way?

    Like

    • September 10, 2014 5:16 pm

      emilysuzanna – I have sold privately through the blog on a trust basis (it has always worked out so far) but I don’t belong to any of the sales/marketing sites. this warp is too narrow for tea towels but I also really like if and have been considering the next warp with the same pattern for towels

      Like

      • emilysuzanna permalink
        September 10, 2014 5:48 pm

        If you decide to do that I would love to buy two of them…

        Like

      • September 10, 2014 7:04 pm

        emilysuzanna – is it the blue and white that you like? and both in the second pattern? I will have to dye more linen yarn. I’ll let you know if I can do that before the weather changes and it gets too cold for the indigo vat.

        Like

      • emilysuzanna permalink
        September 10, 2014 7:50 pm

        Yes, I love the second pattern best, but it’s kind of interesting how the second pops out when it’s juxtaposed to the first…that’s just an observation. I’d be ok with another color if there wasn’t enough blue…do you ever make them all cotton?

        Like

      • September 10, 2014 9:32 pm

        Emilysuzanna – most of the tea towels I weave are cotton, I have never used indigo dyed yarn for towels that would get frequent machine washing. I could use a commercial/chemical dyed cotton that might be a better choice for washing, you could choose any colour.

        Like

      • emilysuzanna permalink
        September 11, 2014 1:42 pm

        Well, I do love the naturalness of indigo, but my next choice would be a sort of olive green and then, if that were not available, a deep orangey red.

        Like

      • September 11, 2014 4:52 pm

        Emilysuzanna – I will keep those in mind and let you know when I’m ready to start a new warp – possibly end of Sept. – then we can discuss the details by email.

        Like

  3. September 10, 2014 9:12 pm

    Those pinwheels are fabulous! What a difference a tie-up makes!

    Like

    • September 10, 2014 9:33 pm

      Heather – I was disappointed with the first pattern, it isn’t what I was expecting. Really like the second one, might have to have one myself.

      Like

  4. September 11, 2014 1:50 pm

    Wow–what a change that made! I just love the classic blue and natural color combo . . .

    Like

  5. Kathy permalink
    September 11, 2014 6:10 pm

    I LOVE the pinwheel pattern. 🙂

    Like

  6. emilysuzanna permalink
    September 11, 2014 6:13 pm

    That would be splendid! I am thrilled! My email is in the “complete profile” on my blog…mostlythreads.blogspot.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

