Skip to content

the beat goes on

August 7, 2014

keeping my fingers crossed that all the handspun warp yarns behave themselves

I knew they could present a problem

but – looking good

P1050352

two repeats of the 8 shaft advancing twill

P1050349

on the other hand, this little weaver is in trouble

P1050351

on my hands and knees, on a busy city sidewalk, ( bum in the air)  taking this picture

approximately 10 inches across

think it is a Sulfur Shelf or Laetiporus sulphureus , commonly know as Chicken of the Woods

my mushroom book states;  “do not  serve it to lawyers, landlords, employers, policemen, pit bull owners, or others whose good will you cherish!”

it does not say it will dye – think I’ll give it a miss

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2014 4:23 pm

    Wikipedia says that some people suffer gastric upset if they eat this mushroom and 10% have more severe symptoms. Also you can only eat it when young and cooked. Although I love mushrooms I’d pass! I don’t know if it dyes either but you could always ask Ann of Shroomworks on the Sunshine Coast.

    Your advancing twill is lovely!

    Like

    • August 7, 2014 5:15 pm

      Louisa – I get all my mushroom knowledge from David Arora’s book “All That the Rain Promises an More”. It lists those that are good for dyeing. Wove 1 1/2 yd. today – all is good, yeh!!

      Like

  2. August 8, 2014 3:25 am

    Maybe you could mend the web for that little spider-weaver? The advancing twill effect is very lovely–so subtle but it adds so much interest!

    Like

  3. August 9, 2014 4:33 am

    All good wishes for your handspun warp. You are really flying by the seat of your pants, but I’ll bet you will get away with it. Looking really good so far.

    Like

    • August 9, 2014 8:11 am

      Alice – first scarf finished, only 1 broken warp thread. the seat of my pants is somewhat scruffy at the moment!

      Like

  4. August 9, 2014 7:19 am

    the scarf web is my favorite, i’d prefer that around my neck. seriously, i hate walking in the woods when a web becomes my scarf.

    Like

    • August 9, 2014 8:09 am

      Velma – the webs are a sign of approaching autumn (sigh), they are everywhere. it is the resident spider in my hair or face I don’t like.

      Like

Leave a Reply

