Skip to content

an update

July 25, 2014

there is absolutely no point in wasting time messing around when you know the problem is not going to go away

P1050310so after a morning of procrastination

decision made

you can see the problem – the tension on the entire center section of warp threads suddenly became VERY tight

what is concerning is – I don’t know why and will it happen again?

P1050312 get on with it and start over

just have to hope the new length will be long enough

P1050313the cut off piece has a beautiful drape

I’ll pull up the pink threads and dye it in the indigo

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2014 2:06 pm

    Uggh! That’s really weird. I’ve only had to scrap something on the loom entirely 2x, and that’s not pretty. At least it’s not a complete disaster for you, yet. Hopefully it will work itself out the second time. I can’t imagine what would cause that except wacky beaming. If you solve the mystery, let us know!

    Like

  2. July 26, 2014 2:37 am

    This leaves me stunned–all that work and no explanation of what went wrong?!

    Like

    • July 26, 2014 9:27 am

      Kerry – I could get all philosophical but simply put I wouldn’t be a weaver if I was looking for guaranteed success. Sh— happens!

      Like

  3. July 26, 2014 9:09 am

    Hey! You weren’t supposed to catch my Warp From H^%& disease!! So sorry, Jean. I totally empathise. {{hugs!}}

    BTW I haven’t cut mine off yet. Currently it’s still in Time Out. But I’m getting closer.

    Like

    • July 26, 2014 9:25 am

      Louisa – yeh,well! I considered selling the loom and becoming a potter (they make more money) but then I figured “misery likes company” didn’t want to leave you out there on your own. your picture looks great, you’ll love them all the more for the effort it took.

      Like

  4. Judy Lathrop permalink
    July 26, 2014 9:51 pm

    Its been years since I have owned a loom, but I can still remember some of my warp frustrations and send you great empathy. That said, I think the small piece you cut off will be amazing when dyed indigo….keep us informed!

    Like

    • July 26, 2014 10:49 pm

      Judy – thanks for the empathy, you’d think after 40 years of weaving I could get it right. the cut off piece had 5 dips in the indigo today – another 5 dips tomorrow should do it.

      Like

  5. July 28, 2014 2:05 am

    been there too.the more the merrier 🙂

    Like

  6. July 28, 2014 2:43 am

    Your brave spirit and attitude are inspring – when there’s some unfixable problem – cut the whole thing and start over! I will remeber that.

    Like

    • July 28, 2014 7:27 am

      Alfia – with 14 yards of warp and a lot of time already invested there wasn’t anything to lose.

      Like

Leave a Reply

