Skip to content

dear/deer things

July 11, 2014

finally, I think I’m ready to weave

P1050216after correcting several warp threads crossed when sleying the reed

weaving a coloured header

checking for threading mistakes

my vision is blurry

P1050214the dark weft threads are the shibori pattern threads

any mistakes?? don’t think so

now I have to find someone willing to help wind bobbins

two bobbin winders separating the double threads from one ball

P1050208using up small amounts of handspun 2 ply silk, natural dyes

a scarf to carry on summer outings

I couldn’t resist this obi from Ichiroya in Osaka

P1050210the weft is (shifu) paper

with a pattern of sumi ink brushwork

P1050211signed, can you see the tiny people in rain capes and straw rain hats?

P1050217the lining is a graduation of colour, handwoven with shifu weft as well

P1050213it all looks so simple – but the fine silk warp is doubled in the reed and it appears to be space dyed

oh la la, do I need to say I’m thrilled!

if you enjoy Japanese textiles  www.dailyjapanesetextile.wordpress.com  is worth a look

P1050203

think I’ll cool off in the shade like this mule deer in my friend’s garden

sorry! I have corrected the link to Daily Japanese Textile

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Lis permalink
    July 11, 2014 11:37 am

    The obi is beautiful. Happy weaving, happy weekend. I’m off to look at that website, thanks for the link.

    Like

  2. July 11, 2014 12:48 pm

    I hope you make it through the warp without any headaches. Fascinating obi. I have enjoyed that blog, such neat little insights.

    Like

  3. July 11, 2014 1:58 pm

    Shibori on a top of such a fine twill pattern?- now I am curious to see what it will look like. Separating double thread is much easier done with four hands, that’s for sure.
    Ichiroya is a very nice place to botanise and to spend a penny or a fortune, I was so happy to find it.
    For the last two days I was re-reading “The Unknown Craftsman” and it impressed me even more than the first time, i feel as if the obi you bought is an illustration from that book, it just adds up and continues the impression. And then this blog link – thank you!

    Like

    • July 11, 2014 2:51 pm

      Alfia – you are very welcome, have fun. At least the pieces are not for sale so no temptation. I have done this shibori before with the same yarn so I have some idea what it will look like. Ichiroya is a family business and they are very nice to deal with. I haven’t been tempted to spend a fortune yet but you never know! I love this obi, it is so simple and elegant.

      Like

  4. July 12, 2014 3:52 am

    Beautiful things! The knitting style is intriguing–I like the patchwork effect. And I’m weirdly (and pathetically?) pleased to know that you, even with all your experience, occasionally cross warp threads. That is an ongoing issue at my house . . .

    Like

    • July 12, 2014 7:11 am

      Kerry – when threading hold the selected thread/s firmly then move a little to the right and then a little to the left and you can see if they are crossed. It is more difficult when they are very fine and I sleyed 3 to a dent in a 20 dent reed.

      Like

  5. July 13, 2014 9:47 am

    I think crossed warp threads is the ONLY thing that hasn’t gone wrong with my latest warp! LOL!!! Can’t wait to see how your woven shibori turns out. The obi is amazing. Sure pays to not only look more closely than usual but know what it is you are seeing!

    Like

    • July 13, 2014 10:02 am

      Louisa – I hope your warp problems are resolved and you can get on with the weaving. I think I’m finally advancing. Old eyes are not the best when weaving spider webs!! I’ve often wondered if the reason highly patterned, textured and multicoloured work is so popular is because the initial impact is powerful and you don’t have to look deeper. No need to tax your brain, contemplate technique and skill or look for hidden meanings.

      Like

      • July 13, 2014 1:41 pm

        I think you’re right about the latest trends. I tend to like fine details (and fine warps) but I do eye exercises almost daily and I think that helps keep me from going blind! I love the little people on the obi!

        Like

      • July 13, 2014 2:18 pm

        Kristin – I’ve been taking a break every hour to rest my eyes – and back. Those little people were the icing on the cake/obi!

        Like

  6. July 13, 2014 2:28 pm

    much to enjoy here. the obi is lovely, i think i need one of those rain hats… and it’s a lovely thing, that obi. i will someday make woven shibori…maybe!

    Like

    • July 13, 2014 3:26 pm

      Velma – the rain hats are similar to the woven cedar bark hats of our Coastal aboriginal people. The obi was even better than I hoped for – always a lovely surprise.

      Like

  7. July 15, 2014 11:52 pm

    the obi is wonderful! are you wearing it or will it be just displayed?

    Like

    • July 16, 2014 7:50 am

      Neki – it is almost unworn, the fold lines created when worn would become quite obvious because of the paper weft, I don’t want to damage it. don’t think I’ll be wearing it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

