Skip to content

abundance

June 22, 2014

the garden is blooming

P1050077

a friend bought this cotton in China

P1050082

she has decided it is too fine so it has come to me

  there are 2 lbs. of very good quality 60/2 and I have plans for it

it has been wound into balls using 2 strands at a time

all very well when winding the warp

but how do I wind a single strand on bobbins?

P1050083the indigo vat is happy

the handspun suri alpaca soaked it up

P1050041still working on the obi

P1050085

there will be an abundance of hollyhocks this year

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2014 7:42 pm

    ah, abundance again! i think i have NO hollyhocks this year!

    Like

  2. June 23, 2014 2:53 am

    Oooh–you’re getting fancier with the inlay! I love it! And my hollyhocks are at about the same stage as yours–they’re among my favorites.

    Like

  3. June 23, 2014 9:14 am

    You may end up using the doubled cotton as is. Unless you’re a lot more nimble and patient than I am (quite possible!), it’s really difficult to use it singly. I once foolishly “adopted” a lot of fine doubled cotton hoping that I could separate it. Not so much. It stuck to itself badly and became such a tangle that I finally ended up chucking it. Good thing I didn’t pay anything for it! Of course the difference may be that mine had been skeined and dyed first which exacerbated the sticking-together issues. Live and learn.

    Like

    • June 23, 2014 9:42 am

      Louisa – this is a very tight twist 2 ply and separates easily. If I set up two bobbin winders side by side I think I can bribe someone (a grandchild?) to wind one bobbin while I wind the other – it’s worth a try.

      Like

Leave a Reply

