Skip to content

weaving inlay

June 4, 2014

 I started  this obi to weave something that was fun and a break from the heavy garden work

P1040972

   it was not my intention to use red

but the little skeins of natural dyed silk from last years experiments were calling

and the old kimono fashion magazine has many inspiring ideas

P1040967inlay is slow and peaceful and you get to finger all the wonderful yarns

I’ve used the flash here so the twill pattern is more obvious

P1040970each pattern gives me an idea for the next one

yesterday I went with a student to look are a “new to her’ loom

which she loaded into the truck and happily took home

I’ve lost count of the number of looms I’ve found new homes for but I’m always as excited as the new owner

P1040976the seller gave me this lovely little shuttle ( and many bobbins of silk) as a thank you

a win/win for everyone

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2014 2:48 pm

    sweet, in every way.

    Like

  2. June 4, 2014 4:04 pm

    Gorgeous obi. I haven’t tried inlay, but have been thinking about it for years…any instructional books to recommend? Or is it just intuitive?

    Like

  3. June 4, 2014 4:46 pm

    Loving that inlay! Proportions are surprising and wonderful.

    Like

  4. June 5, 2014 12:10 am

    beautiful little shuttle. gorgeous inlay the red cuts it!

    Like

  5. June 5, 2014 9:47 am

    Oh, boy–I really, really like this inlay technique! So, let’s say I’m using a blue weft like yours. When I have a shed open, I put the shuttle through with the blue and also, right then, add a little bit of red thread. Is that how it works? Sorry–I’m just too new at this!

    Like

    • June 5, 2014 9:56 am

      Kerry – it is as easy as that. when starting and finishing I do a full wrap around the single warp thread and leave the end on the back of the weaving. best to start with plain weave,the twill pattern requires a little more thought about where to start and finish the inlay and that is why I’m using simple shapes. with a very fine warp the Japanese create very complex shapes.

      Like

      • June 7, 2014 4:01 am

        I love the effect–I will give it a try when I have a little more experience!

        Like

      • June 7, 2014 8:00 am

        Kerry – try a simple shape when sampling at the beginning or end of a warp. have fun.

        Like

  6. June 6, 2014 12:40 pm

    I had to come here and look at it again – so pretty! I haven’t tried inlay in twill, didn’t think about it, thank you for inspiration!

    Like

    • June 6, 2014 1:31 pm

      Alfia – you are very welcome, I haven’t done this since I was a newbie weaver and it is great fun, will have to plan more.

      Like

Leave a Reply

