Skip to content

a week in review

May 24, 2014

yesterday morning it rained – the first in days

the garden soaked it up, the birds sang

P1040898and I didn’t have to water

Tues. night was tea and tell

P1040893Arlene brought scarves and a colourful assortment of tea towels

P1040895Kathy was gathering her woven shibori

P1040892

I cut a new stamp for the new journal

P1040916and almost warped the loom

P1040917

today was the start of the Swiftsure International Yacht race

several races run at the same time – the longest being 138 nautical miles

 there was wind – at least for the start

P1040907eldest son was co-skippering

hope the wind holds

P1040905I saw the start, then they were quickly out of sight

and I was off to my favorite pottery sale

P1040911Kinichi Shigeno tending his booth

P1040914couldn’t resist this platter buzzing with bees, I thought – according to his web site they are pine beetles

which are destroying our forests and lumber industry – yikes!

P1040915and then this beautiful gift from Kinichi

P1040912finally, winding up at the pub for a Guinness

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2014 11:58 pm

    Oh my, Jean, that sounds like a magical week. The pottery is exquisite. Love it. Wouldn’t mind a Guinness either!

    Like

    • May 25, 2014 12:05 am

      Myra – when I was a student nurse an old British charge nurse introduced me to Guinness by telling me it was good for the blood – built up a person’s iron. I’ve been drinking it ever since!

      Like

  2. May 25, 2014 3:33 am

    This looks like a fine couple of days! I like the blue/white theme, with the sail boats, the warp and the pottery–that photo of the boats heeling at the same angle, in a stiff breeze, makes me smile.

    Like

  3. May 25, 2014 7:08 am

    wonderful pottery, and beer, oh, and boats. oh, and FIBER!

    Like

    • May 25, 2014 8:56 am

      Velma – I’m grinning!
      Kerry – son’s boat was first across the line at approx. 11pm last night. I babysat the grands while daughter-in-law went to the waterfront to cheer.

      Like

  4. May 25, 2014 7:29 am

    I have followed your blog for some time now and it’s time I told you how much I enjoy hearing about your life, creative and otherwise, so far away from mine in the UK. There are problems with world-wide internet access to be sure but the pleasure of being able to enjoy a “friendship” so far away does help outweigh the bad. I look forward to more gentle musings.

    Like

    • May 25, 2014 8:54 am

      Davida – thank you for visiting and even more for leaving a comment – the comments make writing the blog worthwhile. I lived, was married and 1st son was born in the U.K. love to hear from people around the world. Please say “hi” again.

      Like

  5. May 25, 2014 8:15 am

    A delightful week, Jean. I own one small cup by Kinichi Shigeno, purchased way back before I worked at Circle Craft on Granville Island where he was a member. I think his pieces are a lot more complex these days. I’m a bit taken aback at the pine beetles though. I like your interpretation of bees better!

    I don’t think one really needs an excuse to have a good beer, do you? 😉

    Like

    • May 25, 2014 8:51 am

      Louisa – Kinichi and I have become once a year friends over quite a number of years. Nothing like a good beer to complete a good day! The beetles were a bit of a surprise – d-in-l suggested I call them bumble beetles!

      Like

Leave a Reply

