Skip to content

a day in the country

May 16, 2014

yesterday I headed up-island to visit one of my students

the weather was perfect

P1040863I was greeted by Marion and the goats

a “hello” to the chickens and Mr. Rooster

P1040866he’s magnificent – and he knows it!

then I had to scratch the ears of all 4 donkeys

P1040871Jack is the boss- but he is not allowed to visit the ladies  – he has free run of everywhere else

P1040870the gals are gentle and very friendly

P1040872they live in paradise – huge, old maple trees

P1040873 Marion’s hand spun stash of wool and alpaca is amazing

we talked about what to weave

P1040874inspected bags and bags of fleece

kitty is not impressed, she’s seen it all before

P1040875I came home with

a little bag of suri-alpaca fleece, incredibly soft and silky

and spun a test skein in the evening

P1040884

and a dozen eggs – you can’t get any fresher

P1040876

the three light ones are actually blue – just my colour

thank you Marion, for a lovely, memorable day

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2014 9:11 am

    What a lovely day you had! I adore the colours of the eggs. How come we can’t buy those in the store? Guess they need more Ameraucana chickens.

    Like

    • May 20, 2014 10:16 am

      Louisa – have to ask a chicken person, and– they taste so much better than those white imitations from the super market!

      Like

  2. May 22, 2014 1:13 pm

    I can’t complain, I live very happy life, but when I see goats and donkeys I feel there is still can be more to it all in this lifetime. Want a donkey and a goat, no – two goats. Ah!
    Suri alpaca could be called silk if it wasn’t already called alpaca – so special, such dense and heaviness.

    Like

    • May 22, 2014 1:24 pm

      Alfia – it’s the life style I hunger for, I’ve been there so know it is hard work but there is an honesty about it that city life doesn’t have – and a very different sense of community. And I love donkeys -two donkeys for me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

