Skip to content

spinning my wheels

May 2, 2014

warning

this is definitely NOT a fashion shot!

P1040822I’m digging – while the soil is dig-able, it’s not raining and before it gets too hot

the Japanese anemone roots are 2 feet deep

and the blue bells are going to the compost, too

don’t worry, they’ll both be back in a couple of years

P1040802a visitor to my studio was wearing this silk (looked like handwoven) coat which she bought in a consignment store

she had a dressmaker alter it to fit  – don’t you love these big, pleated pockets

P1040803and the detail on the back?

P1040824in the evenings, when I’m too tired and achy to do anything else I’m spinning this fleece I’ve had for a few years

shifting one stash to another

P1040825spinning in the grease – it is wonderfully clean and soft

I’m planning to ply it – a delight to spin

very fine and tight – 3 lbs. 5 oz.  of Icelandic Moorit from Jane at Tideview Farm

I could sit in the sun and spin all day

but – back to the digging!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2014 4:44 pm

    Love the coat! That’s a beautiful fleece. It would take me forever to spin that much! I have to buy in ounces or I’d drown in fiber. What’s the staple length?

    Like

    • May 2, 2014 5:11 pm

      Kristin – I’m spinning it on a wheel, directly from the locks – approx. 4 1/2″. it is so-o soft.

      Like

  2. May 2, 2014 5:32 pm

    Beautiful colour coat. Love the pockets too.

    Like

    • May 2, 2014 6:22 pm

      Myra – don’t think you could put much more than a hankie in the pockets but they are really cute.

      Like

  3. May 3, 2014 5:44 am

    Yard work = hard work! I tried spinning a long, long time ago and had a black fleece that I worked with. I loved the smell of the lanolin . . .

    Like

  4. Crooked Tracks permalink
    May 3, 2014 9:36 am

    I love the details on the back of the coat. Nice color too.

    Like

    • May 3, 2014 10:27 am

      crooked tracks – I think it was a good buy from the consignment store – even if the alterations were expensive.

      Like

  5. May 4, 2014 3:43 am

    I am watching my anemones fighting ground ivy both are very agressive, but who will win ? That handmade coat is beautiful, inspiring to make own clothes from handwoven cloth. The fleece does looks like it is a pleasure to spin.

    Like

  6. May 4, 2014 4:54 pm

    i absolutely adore sitting in the sun and spinning in the grease. i thought i was the only one!

    Like

    • May 4, 2014 9:56 pm

      Velma – the sun warms up the grease and it’s like spinning butter,and it’s so good for the hands.

      Like

Leave a Reply

