Skip to content

a bit of everything

April 28, 2014

P1040799studio tour weekend

the weather was good – a bit blustery with only a couple rain showers

the best crowd ever – with interesting people

and good sales

well worth the effort

P1040805on my doorstep in the morning

I just hope it wasn’t breakfast for the crows

two new books

P1040807 Chorus of Mushrooms  by Hiromi Goto

the 2oth anniversary edition, co-winner of the Canada-Japan book award

immigrant life on the Canadian prairies, told in the words of Obachan (grandmother), her daughter and granddaughter

I read it years ago but the passage of years has changed my perspective

I love these quotes;

” If an old woman sits in a chair and never gets out and talks and talks and talks, don’t ignore her. She might be saying something that will change the colour of your eyes.”

and

“I wanted to be a scholar once, but I decided to be an old woman when I grew up.”

ha, ha!

P1040809Ship of Theseus   by V.M. Straka

two stories in one – the book itself, full of margin notes

and postcards, letters and clippings passed back and forth between two people

P1040811

I won’t (can’t) tell you any more – it defies explanation

you’ll just have to read it

I wonder if libraries will have it as it is full of  wonderful scraps that aren’t bound in

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2014 4:35 pm

    Your weaving room is beautiful, Jean. That book sounds wonderful. We are enjoying Autumn downunder and loving the cooler weather.

    Like

  2. April 28, 2014 4:54 pm

    The books look good!

    Like

  3. April 28, 2014 5:19 pm

    ok, i will order this one… and the studio looks perfect!

    Like

    • April 28, 2014 5:54 pm

      Velma – both books are wonderful – very different.
      Kjerstin – I planned to curb my book buying but seem to be incorrigible
      Myra – and we are enjoying a flower filled Spring. enjoy your Autumn

      Like

  4. April 29, 2014 8:49 am

    thats not a proper studio – you can see the floor

    Like

    • April 29, 2014 8:58 am

      Tanya – that’s because I spend a couple days ahead of time moving 2 teaching looms and assorted paraphernalia into the house – and when the crowds arrive you definitely can’t see the floor.

      Like

  5. April 29, 2014 1:43 pm

    Your studio looks so inviting (and tidy!) The tour weekend sounds like a great idea for everyone.

    Like

    • April 29, 2014 2:34 pm

      Kerry – studio needs to be tidy when I have students, when I’m alone it gets messy. tour weekends can be good, bad or indifferent. this one was great.

      Like

  6. May 1, 2014 12:32 pm

    Now I want to see your weavings up close! And touch and feel and ask a lot of questions.
    But I am glad other people did all that and bought your work.
    That first book really got me all intrigued – I stopped dyeing my hair two years ago and now it’s much, much greyer than other people’s hair when they are 40, so it looks like I have decided to be an old woman when I grow up (giggling).

    Like

Leave a Reply

