Skip to content

another book

February 20, 2014

Shifu – Japanese handmade paper and paper thread

books 133Kigami and Kami-ito

by Hiroko Karuno

beautifully presented, a book that feels good to simply hold

with a full-sized page of handmade Japanese paper

 a small book, only 87 pages, written in English and Japanese

 filled with clear, concise information and excellent photos

books 134it does not include dyeing instructions but these skeins are a work of art

I ordered my book from

Textile Museum of Canada

shop manager June Lee was very helpful

the cover price was $32.00 + tax  Canadian and postage was minimal

compared to $45.00 in the U.S. with a hefty postage charge

I read it (the English!) in one sitting and then sat and hugged it

thank you Hiroko-san for sharing this wonderful technique with the world.

now I’m off to spend my pension on paper!!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2014 1:08 pm

    Oh, yes, I know the feeling of hugging a book after reading. This one looks lovely – thanks for the reference!

    Like

  2. February 20, 2014 1:58 pm

    I saw this book at Sri and thought it looked like a gem. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. February 20, 2014 3:36 pm

    I saw this book offered by Habu Textiles in the U.S. and thought it looked like a wonderful book to add to ones collection. I envy you.

    Like

  4. February 21, 2014 1:51 pm

    This is now at the top of my list; Thank you. I understand completely why you are going to spend it all on paper now!

    Like

    • February 21, 2014 2:03 pm

      Renee’ – I first learned to spin/weave shifu at Kawashima in 1987 and have loved it ever since. The good paper that I can get locally is expensive so I have to be careful.

      Like

  5. March 3, 2014 4:06 pm

    it’s just wonderful, this book.

    Like

  6. March 26, 2014 8:57 pm

    I got it today!

    Like

Leave a Reply

