Skip to content

another warp

February 11, 2014

similar to the previous fabric – different colours and yarns

weaving-finishing 427all natural dyes, cotton and silk

testing weft colours – I decided to go with my first choice

2 ply linen in a creamy natural colour with a beautiful sheen

weaving-finishing 429carefully measured and planned to make a summer top/blouse

the pattern is a “Six-Squares Origami Top”

from Handwoven magazine, March/April 1995

also Handwoven M/A  1996

weaving-finishing 430it requires some careful measurements

 I made a pattern (to scale) to see where to place the stripes and colours

weaving-finishing 431as it hangs on the bias I am weaving it in twill so it will drape nicely

I didn’t take the time to make a muslin – hope I don’t regret that decision

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Judith permalink
    February 11, 2014 6:46 pm

    Jean
    I met you at Bryan’s opening. As I remember you are pretty tiny. I am also making this
    top and it’s surprising how the muslin fits. It might be large on you. I made one years ago
    and really loved it. I wore it for years. Your fabric is beautiful.

    Like

    • February 11, 2014 7:24 pm

      Hi Judith – I remember meeting you. Thanks for the feed back, I’ve wanted to try this for years, it looks very wearable. Large is ok, I’m always cold so something underneath would suit me.

      Like

  2. Judi bushby permalink
    February 11, 2014 8:12 pm

    Look forward to seeing the finished article, perhaps modelled.

    Like

  3. Lis permalink
    February 11, 2014 10:48 pm

    The top looks lovely, I’m sure it will drape beautifully. I look forward to seeing a picture of you modelling it 🙂

    Like

  4. February 12, 2014 7:35 am

    I’ve made this shirt twice. Once I made it 18.25″ on the loom with a rayon/ linen that did not shrink and once with handspun cotton singles at 20″ on the loom. Both times it worked out just fine for my ~38″ bust. The bias makes it hang nicely and appear slimmer even though it is rather roomy. Just be sure to make the neck opening deep enough or it won’t be as comfortable. Yours will be wonderful with all those beautiful colors. Can’t wait to see it!

    Like

  5. February 12, 2014 7:58 am

    Living dangerously, but you will prevail. What a beautiful warp!

    Like

    • February 12, 2014 8:29 am

      Alice – hope I don’t live to regret it!
      Kristin – thanks for the advice, I’ll be careful with the neck opening – on the bias.
      Lis – oh, oh there’s me modelling again!

      Like

Leave a Reply

