Skip to content

scraps and pieces

January 31, 2014

progress at the loom is slow

weaving-finishing 423

the warp is sticky – an easy and much quicker fix than the old flax-seed sizing

is using spray starch – be sure to get unscented – spray it onto the warp threads as you wind forward and let it dry

stitching on the kesa is progressing, the fourth panel is finished

kesa 014the center block was dyed at Noguchi san’s in Japan, April 2012

 the fifth panel to be stitched on the opposite side of the center is started

kesa 016but I’ve hit a “bump in the road” – maybe that is what making a kesa is all about?

the center block I planned to use doesn’t look right

I’ve searched ALL the stash – no luck

all the fabrics are cotton, linen or some combination so silk is not a possibility

and when I planned this I promised myself not to buy anything new…

so – I’m waiting for inspiration to strike!

the rain clouds are gone – for a few days at least

spring 217

 the view this morning, out over the city

14 miles across the Straits of Juan de Fuca

to the Olympic Mountains in Washington State

it is nice when the snow is that far away!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. lis.harwood@gmail.com permalink
    February 1, 2014 2:27 am

    I am enjoying the development of the kesa. Lovely to see the piece from Noguchi san’s studio. I loved that place. Have a great weekend x

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

    • February 1, 2014 7:19 am

      Hi Lis- our trip to Noguchi san’s was such a privilege, I was happy to use my sample in the kesa.

      Like

  2. February 1, 2014 7:53 am

    I think that “bump” is part of the process…like our own journeys. When I decided to make my first rakusu, I waited until the inspired “rag” appeared. About 1 year later, I was rummaging at a free church boutique and there was an old pair of silk/cotton/linen pants that no body wanted because, well, they looked like a rag. I dyed them blue and ironed them up and they were perfect. Your inspiration is on its way! So far, it’s looking fabulous in a subtle kesa way, of course.

    Like

  3. Judith permalink
    February 2, 2014 12:22 pm

    Jean

    wondering if you have ever used the Michel Garcia organic indigo vat?? Or if
    you have any wise words about these type of indigo vats. Thank you

    Like

    • February 2, 2014 12:50 pm

      Judith – I have taken many workshops over the years, have at least a dozen books, have tried most variations (except the “ready mix”). I have Michel Garcia’s DVD, have tried the organic vat, but have never taken his workshop. Before I went to Japan I was maintaining – with difficulty a 30 gallon zinc vat. After talking to Bryan I went back to a 30 gal thiourea dioxide vat using natural indigo (from India) bought from Maiwa Handprints. I firmly believe that you need to form a spiritual bond with your vat and whatever works for you is worth continuing .

      Like

      • Judith permalink
        February 2, 2014 2:41 pm

        Thanks Jean I appreciate your thoughts. I’m going to give it a try.
        I just love that there are no chemicals involved.

        Your photo is lovely. It looks almost like a watercolour.

        Like

      • February 2, 2014 4:08 pm

        Judith – yes, I worry about chemicals too. I learned, from Bryan, to empty the chemical vat when it was finished, dry the sludge in the bottom, in the sun and then take it to the chemical recycle.

        Like

  4. February 2, 2014 5:40 pm

    the view outside echoes the view inside!

    Like

Leave a Reply

