Skip to content

it is beginning to look alot like…

December 7, 2013

winter

winter 2119

heather in the snow

insects-critters 129

hummer keeping warm

keeping the feeders thawed out is a challenge

weaving-finishing 385

wooly blanket finished – so I can keep warm, too

spinning 226

spinning by candlelight – when the electricity went off

but  Spring will come

indigo 129

Susan brought me dried indigo blossoms for seed

13 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2013 1:40 pm

    Seeing snow on the coast oddly makes me feel better about our current weather and calms the “grass is always greener” thoughts I have.

    I like how the picture of the heather and the snow is similar in tone to your beautiful blanket.

    Like

    • December 7, 2013 1:55 pm

      Deb – in Victoria the snow only lasted 1 day and Vancouver didn’t get any BUT it is breaking temp.records. Vic. 2 nights ago was -20 with the wind chill factored in – go figure!!

      Like

      • December 7, 2013 1:59 pm

        Wow I didn’t realize it got that cold out there recently. I tend to mostly watch the Gulf Islands weather. Hopefully it will warm up soon.

        Like

      • December 7, 2013 2:32 pm

        Deb – this is an anomaly . I brought 1 hummingbird feeder in last night, set the alarm and put it out at first light – it was already starting to freeze by the time I made breakfast!! yuck

        Like

      • December 7, 2013 2:34 pm

        That’s cold. I only put out black oil seed in our feeders. Right now filling them in thigh high snow is an unpleasant experience.

        Like

  2. December 7, 2013 3:15 pm

    All your pictures have the same teal/lavender palette (except for the fireplace). Now that can’t be an accident, can it? Lovely.

    Like

    • December 7, 2013 4:28 pm

      Alice – it is interesting how we unconsciously gavitate to the same colours and combinations. sometimes I get thoroughly bored with myself!

      Like

  3. December 8, 2013 2:15 pm

    in spite of the cold, it all looks very cozy and pleasant–your blanket is gorgeous. The hummingbirds must love you!

    Like

    • December 8, 2013 2:46 pm

      Kerry – these are Rufus humming birds, they make a high click, click sound – I take for scolding – this one natters at me all the time but I can walk within a few inches of him and he doesn’t fly away.

      Like

  4. December 8, 2013 5:32 pm

    beautiful colors in your part of this continent, jean. i love that blanket

    Like

  5. Renee' permalink
    December 11, 2013 11:18 am

    So amazingly lucky to have heather growing near you. One of my favorites. This was like a photo verse of the “My Favorite Things” song.

    Like

Leave a Reply

