Skip to content

making thread

December 4, 2013

Velma asked if my new Akha spindle was good for spinning paper/shifu?

it is made for spinning cotton and other fine, short fibres

spinning 218

in the summer I experimented with dyeing kiraku kozo paper with indigo

I cut a half sheet but was disappointed and tucked it away

as it was cut I decided to try spinning it on the Akha

it needed to be coaxed into co-operating and I  spun it twice to produce a firm, even twist

save this spindle for cottonspinning 219it does a beautiful job

the skein is the easy spin Pima that came with the spindle

 the green cotton, on the spindle, has very short fibre and needs more care but is producing a fine, smooth yarn

spinning tussah silk on the  Turkish spindle from IST Crafts

spinning 222with the rim weighted arms one flick of the shaft and it continues  spinning all the way to the floor

and there is that lovely little ball all finished and ready to proceed

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2013 3:37 pm

    I’m glad you addressed ‘shifu on the akha’…I had someone ask me yesterday if it was good for spinning shifu and I told them I didn’t know…but my suspicion was “probably not” since it has so little mass. Thanks for answering ‘our’ question.

    Like

    • December 4, 2013 3:54 pm

      Kristin – paper is so very different from cotton that it seems to make sense. it did spin and the results are ok but there are other choices that seem more efficient. The cotton is lovely.

      Like

      • December 5, 2013 6:53 am

        What type of spindle do you think is best for shift?

        Like

      • December 5, 2013 9:02 am

        Kristin – always spin shifu on my wheel. When I cut more paper I’ll test different spindles but I think mine are all too light – the rim weighted IST would be my guess.

        Neki – he he! as machine knitting is to me. sure wish I could leave a comment on your blog – keep trying but the comment format doesn’t acknowledge that I’m even an anonymous entity.

        Like

  2. December 4, 2013 4:13 pm

    I spent the moments after the last post with a serious serious case of spindle envy. It has yet to go away, lol.

    Like

  3. December 5, 2013 12:52 am

    fun to watch your endeavors although they sound like chinese to me 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

