Skip to content

stash towels

October 27, 2013

more weaving from the stash

weaving-finishing 331

natural linen warp,

careful to get the tension consistent

weaving-finishing 332

pegging the dobby bars

the pattern idea came from a cushion (middle right) in a home decorating magazine

design 080

I scanned the picture into the computer, then cropped and enlarged it

printed it out on the weaving software

weaving-finishing 336

 weaving tea towels as samples gives me something useful

a mix of cotton and linen leftovers

weaving-finishing 335

 reverse twill on the selvedges – I wish I had made it wider!

next time

if I like this I’m planning a silk warp for scarves and then a wool warp for cushions

changing colours doesn’t slow me down too much – just a lot of bobbins to wind.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2013 3:30 pm

    These are beautiful! I love tea towels in general and love the idea that you’re making such pretty ones! Not sure I could bring myself to actually use them though . . . .

    Like

  2. October 27, 2013 5:47 pm

    So pretty, Jean. I’m a bit like Kerry and think they are too pretty to use.

    Like

    • October 27, 2013 10:27 pm

      Myra – weavers have tea towel exchanges, handwoven ones are wonderful and they last for years. it’s lovely to remember when/where/and who wove them when you use them.

      Like

  3. October 28, 2013 2:08 am

    i really like the idea of reverse twill on selvedges! And nice way to use the leftovers.
    (I am getty ready for handwoven tea towels too!)

    Like

  4. October 28, 2013 7:03 am

    These are delicious

    Like

  5. November 6, 2013 12:37 am

    I love the soft tones stripes. Your leftovers are better than what I would dream to do 🙂

    Like

    • November 6, 2013 8:24 am

      Guillaume – thank you, they are slow to weave but only 4 harness/shaft and it is fun to choose the colours.

      Like

Leave a Reply

