Skip to content

changes

October 19, 2013

the blog has been neglected

no busier than usual

caught up in the change of seasons

autumn 050

drifting in the ecotone

lichen-mushrooms 001

the Amanita muscaria stop everyone passing by

the end of this warp is near

students 178

and the next is being wound

the cycle of weaving

students 179

students 180

new students are finding their way

and a new kokeshi has been added to the collection

gifts 143

the tallest one yet, she measures 14 1/2″ – 51.5cm. —  the smallest is 3 1/2″ – 8.5cm

gifts 144

the calligraphy on the back could be a poem

just need to find someone to translate

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2013 1:57 pm

    I know what you mean…something’s gotta give. For me it’s been blogging, too. Such sweet, little totem dolls.

    Like

    • October 19, 2013 9:34 pm

      Kirstin – don’t want to give up the blog — yet, but sometimes run out of inspiration. the kokeshi are heavy and topple in an earthquake – even a modest one!

      Like

  2. October 20, 2013 7:03 am

    jean, beautiful photographs. i’ve been staying out of the ecotones because of TICKS, which i am currently hating. we need a hard frost or three to settle them down. the amanita muscaria are so scary! but that first photo is delicious with color. coming to the end of the weaving is so exciting!

    Like

    • October 20, 2013 9:40 am

      Velma – yikes, ticks are scary. yes, I love seeing the end of the warp – have already decided what is next!

      Like

  3. Susan Duffield permalink
    October 20, 2013 11:52 am

    Curious minds, Jean. How are you doing now for indigo seeds? I would expect you would have plenty, but if you don’t, I do. My plants are still outside and blooming – the deer are leaving them alone. I have loads of flowers if you want some of them. Susan

    Like

    • October 20, 2013 12:24 pm

      Susan – I only have a few seeds from stems I picked and brought inside. Lots of blooms outside but the mornings are getting colder, guess I need to think about cutting them, too. Thanks for the offer. Will let you know if I need some seeds.

      Like

  4. October 20, 2013 12:26 pm

    Lovely photos and weaving. You have such a good eye! And the blog is supposed to be fun, isn’t it? Some days for me it feels like another chore, then I don’t post for a while and eventually it feels like something I want to do again.

    Like

    • October 20, 2013 12:53 pm

      Heather – the only reason I keep up the blog is because of the few great people I’ve come to call friends – established by leaving comments, when that is denied the fun disappears.

      Like

  5. October 21, 2013 9:47 am

    The weaving you’ve done is beautiful! So impressive. I understand how so many things can pile up and get in the way of things like blogging–but, like you, I miss the people if I go a few days without writing and reading!

    Like

    • October 21, 2013 10:36 am

      Kerry – the connection with creative people is what has kept me blogging, not what I expected when I started. Some of the weaving is the first project of new students.

      Like

      • October 22, 2013 5:53 am

        Really? New students? Wow . . . again, I’m envious of their chance to learn from you. Where are you situated?

        Like

      • October 22, 2013 8:52 am

        Kerry – I’m on the other side of the continent, Victoria, B.C. Canada

        Neki – Enso….life is an endless circle

        Like

  6. October 22, 2013 2:11 am

    fall is very bittersweet.things go in preparation for the ones to come.

    Like

Leave a Reply

