Skip to content

feeling a little spinney

October 7, 2013

I’m a pack-rat, it’s all good stuff, I might need it someday

BUT

despite all good intentions, the accumulation keeps growing

drawers, shelves and cupboards are overflowing

with the change of season I’m as busy as the birds

insects-critters 104

sorting, storing, re-organizing

insects-critters 116

and I just keep spinning

spinning 201

silk singles on the Turkish spindle

spinning 202

plied on the wheel – then on to cotton

a new class of students is just getting started

students 177

winding warps

students 175

students 176

and threading the heddles

meanwhile, it isn’t raining

so back to the garden clean-up

it’s good to keep busy – right?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2013 1:07 pm

    Busy is good, even when it feels overwhelming! I envy your students–I’d love to learn to weave!

    Like

    • October 7, 2013 3:13 pm

      Kerry – weaving is one of those skills that benefits from a good teacher to get you started. it also needs more equipment than many other things.

      Like

      • October 8, 2013 1:27 pm

        We bought a big floor loom and a lot of other stuff at a garage sale for $150–it seemed like such a great idea at the time! Haven’t found the good teacher yet . . .

        Like

      • October 8, 2013 2:32 pm

        Kerry – you can email me pictures and I can tell you if you have all the parts and if you have everything necessary to start. If you are interested I can send you the handouts I give my students and slowly email you through the process. 🙂

        Like

      • October 10, 2013 9:30 am

        Wow! That’s just about the kindest offer I can imagine! And I can’t even really take you up on it because we have yet to find a place to set the loom up in the house! I will email you some photos of the loom itself, for any insights you have. We have some other things–I think one is a yarn winder–and a lot of threads and yarns but they’re stored away. Email to follow, with pictures! Thank you so much!

        Like

      • October 10, 2013 9:34 am

        Me again–I couldn’t find an email address on your blog site. If you’d prefer not to post it here, you can email me at kerrycan2@gmail.com and I’ll reply to your message. Thanks!

        Like

      • October 10, 2013 10:53 am

        Kerry – email is mjbetts@telus.net It was on the blog at one time and has somehow disappeared. You can keep the offer in mind and if/when you find a place for the loom then maybe…?

        Like

      • October 11, 2013 6:04 am

        Just emailed you! Thanks so much!

        Like

  2. October 7, 2013 5:38 pm

    I know That packrat feeling too, Jean. I have just found all my mother’s doilies and embroideries and even some of my husband’s grandmother’s (she was an embroiderer extraordinaire). A lot of them are stained because they were used so I think I will cut some up and make a crazy quilt from them so the best parts are preserved. There is even a beautifully edged Victorian bath towel from the days before terry towelling! What to do with it all! I can’t throw it out and don’t want to.At the same time it can’t really be used. More suggestions?

    Like

    • October 7, 2013 8:07 pm

      Myra – your idea of a quilt sounds perfect, it will make a wonderful memory piece. cushions are also a possibility and even a long table or dresser runner. I can’t throw those things away either but know daughter-in-laws will!

      Like

  3. October 8, 2013 2:02 am

    your loom has a spanish look 🙂

    Like

  4. October 8, 2013 4:43 am

    all that stuff–indeed it is treasure. but spinning and spinning is good work indeed.

    Like

    • October 8, 2013 9:15 am

      Velma – sometimes I am so spinney when I go to bed I have to un-spin before I can sleep!
      Neki – pictures are of 3 different teaching table looms, all made in Canada.

      Like

Leave a Reply

