Skip to content

corrections

September 8, 2013

can you see the mistake?

weaving-finishing 320

in the middle of the middle block, in the lace

weaving-finishing 322

the solution is to cut out all the woven weft

correct the mistake and start again

fortunately I have a good supply of the yarn

but — it is fine linen and needs to be handled carefully

while cutting out the weft I found another mistake

very difficult to see – I hope this is the end of them!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2013 11:18 am

    you are so fastidious! i’m not sure there is ever an end to the mistakes but you are the best police of them that i know.

    Like

    • September 8, 2013 2:20 pm

      Aimee – says the lady of perfection! and no, there is never an end to mistakes – to err is human.
      Kerry – a mistake in threading means weaving that mistake for the length of the warp and looking at it every time you sit at the loom.
      Sharon – at least I only have 2 temp. heddles to tie!

      Like

  2. September 8, 2013 1:15 pm

    Oh, my goodness! I think I’d die if I had to pull all of that out! I guess it’s sacrilege to suggest just leaving the mistake, as proof one is human?

    Like

  3. September 8, 2013 1:56 pm

    Hi Jean. One of the things I love about weaving is that almost all mistakes are fixable, even if it can be time consuming to do so. I just finished weaving a set of towels, my first on 12 shafts in a turned twill and I threaded what should have been two different blocks as if they were only one…after much grrrring…I was able to fix the problem by tying a bunch of temporary heddles, removing the warp threads from the incorrect heddles, and putting them through the temporary ones. Problem solved. Won’t be making that mistake again as it took ages to do

    Like

  4. September 8, 2013 9:41 pm

    I made a mistake in my red linen project and didn’t notice it until I started the second one. So I get to keep the one with the mistake, and will give away the one that is okay. SO I feel for you right now.

    Like

    • September 8, 2013 10:03 pm

      Kathy – oh,oh! I did think about weaving the first one and keeping it but i always end up with the mistake and I think these are going to be nice – wanted a good one, too.

      Like

  5. September 9, 2013 2:30 am

    i guess it must bother the h*ll out of you. but bcse it’s in the middle it looks like a double block- a design element.

    Like

  6. September 9, 2013 4:27 am

    i so remember that, sometimes the puzzling out the fix part is sort of fun.

    Like

    • September 9, 2013 7:18 am

      Velma – oh yes, I’m a problem solver, too – and you need a problem to solve.
      Neki – but it is in the middle of one off-set block, just looks like a mistake.

      Like

  7. September 9, 2013 12:41 pm

    Aargh!

    Like

Leave a Reply

