Skip to content

experimental dyeing

August 12, 2013

on Sunday I will be participating in Fibrations 2013

events 299

I planned to dye silk caps to spin during the day

to make it interesting I experimented dying with natural dyes

spinning 177

“experience is what you get when you don’t get what you want.”

using plastic ikat tape to resist areas, while immersion dyeing, the process became messy and complicated

spinning 178

the dyes didn’t penetrate into the center of the bundle

there were only patches of colour

spinning 181

a quick dip in the indigo vat

once dry and torn into pencil roving

spinning 186

it can always be overdyed

natural dyes 284

the dyes are henna (left), myrobalan (no sample) and lac (silk and linen)

I won’t do that again!

Fibrations 2013

Sunday August 18 — in St. Ann’s Academy orchard — 10:00 – 4:00

hope to see you there

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2013 11:18 am

    I’ve thought about dyeing mawata, but I’m not sure. Have you ever had a good experience, or is it just novelty that ends up looking muddy after it’s spun?

    Like

    • August 12, 2013 12:20 pm

      Kristin – I always used Procion MX before and got beautiful results

      Like

      • August 12, 2013 1:05 pm

        Cool. Perhaps I will try that out before I tackle the natural dyes!

        Like

      • August 12, 2013 1:27 pm

        Kristin – next, try thickening the natural dyes and painting them on – more control. but first I’m hoping to get some bengara dyes and trying them.

        Like

  2. August 12, 2013 11:20 am

    Fibrations looks amazing. I recognize some Pender artists on the list too. Seems I am never in BC when the cool events are happening.
    Natural dyeing can have it’s challenges, I find I can never quite predict what will be the outcome. Lac does give a pretty color.

    Like

    • August 12, 2013 12:19 pm

      Deb – this is the third year and I think it will be a good one – hoping for good weather.

      Like

      • August 12, 2013 12:21 pm

        Is it always on the same weekend?

        Like

      • August 12, 2013 12:24 pm

        Deb – it has been so far but you could check with Knotty by Nature as they always know ahead of time

        Like

  3. August 13, 2013 12:49 am

    the ai saved them!.

    Like

    • August 13, 2013 7:42 am

      Neki – actually it wasn’t the pastel look that I was aiming for, a little too wishy washy.

      Like

  4. August 16, 2013 9:14 am

    yes, but you did learn…and the really cool thing is that indigo did, as neki wrote, save the day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

