Skip to content

from a-z and back to blue

August 8, 2013

this Victoria Classics magazine features  elaborate monograms on silver and crystal as well as magnificent designs and stitching on linens

ME 033

pieced and stitched 080

elaborate monograms evolved from the practice of marking linens in order to identify them during laundering

both household linens and clothing were marked with initials and numbers as early as the sixteenth century

by the eighteenth century girls as young as 5-6 were taught needlework and sewing

books 107books 109

a school text-book, published in 1926, one of four by this author

these stitches were for 6 – 10 year olds

I started stitching at age 3 or 4 and enjoyed it but I’m sure not all children did

ME 036

of course I couldn’t resist stitching my mark on the indigo dyed napkins

I choose something simple, more like the laundry marks

many of the vintage monograms were stitched on linen damask

ME 037these towels belonged to my Mother and great-aunt

indigo 125

it is interesting to see how indigo dyes on different fibres

the yarn is 2 ply bleached linen

the fabric is old Japanese kimono silk, the lower right piece is the original

both dyed in the same vat with the same number of dips

shibori 203

the second curtain panel, on the left

it hasn’t been washed and there will be some colour loss

now to sew and hang them, I think they will be ok

back to the loom

going to give the vat – and me – a few days rest

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2013 2:39 pm

    Wow, that bleached linen really took the color beautifully. You really did start stitching early! I was about 6 or 7 before the urge compelled me.

    Like

    • August 8, 2013 2:59 pm

      Kirstin – don’t think I had an urge to stitch, the compelling force was my mother – a very strong woman. Think she needed to give me something to DO!

      Like

      • August 8, 2013 4:55 pm

        Ha Ha, that’s so funny. You must have been a wild one!

        Like

      • August 8, 2013 4:58 pm

        Kirstin – I was adopted, a first and only child – think I was more than she expected! anyhow, it has served me well.

        Like

  2. August 9, 2013 1:13 am

    i love ai on linen the most.i think linen gives it a depth not even silk can.

    Like

    • August 9, 2013 7:21 am

      Neki – getting a very deep colour on silk can be difficult, indigo is a natural with baste fibres.

      Like

  3. August 10, 2013 7:03 pm

    funny to have stopped by here while i’m away teaching…started the indigo vat here today at long ridge under nancy’s guidance, and i think the indigo is spectacular on…spun lokta and kozo! just sayin’!

    Like

Leave a Reply

