Skip to content

a gift of love

June 15, 2013

it has been a difficult week

I feel like Chicken Little

but–the sky hasn’t fallen

gifts 130

and this wonderful package from Velma has made my world a brighter place

gifts 138

Velma has captured the colours and patterns of her world on the paper she makes, from the gifts of nature that surround her

gifts 136

they remind me of the rocks I collect where ever I go

gifts 131

 she has created a tiny book, stitched together between wooden covers

and held with a paper band

gifts 133

each page a unique, miniature world

filled with love and healing

gifts 139

and a woven moon

in a textured sky

which hasn’t fallen

15 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2013 12:40 pm

    so sorry to hear about your difficult week, but it makes velma’s gift that much more precious. WOW, the book. WOW!

    Like

    • June 15, 2013 12:43 pm

      Aimee – it was a trade and Velma was worried that it was late – but the timing was perfect, when I needed it most. And, YES the book! WOW!

      Like

  2. beadsandfibreslady permalink
    June 15, 2013 3:18 pm

    I have a friend whom I deeply respect and whenever she uses the term “difficult”, it actually means “really trying” or “deeply upsetting” to us ordinary mortals. I send some love from Hampshire in England and follow your posts with loving attention. Your weaving is very inspiring and so is your photography so I have shared it with a few weavers here so that they too can dip into the love therein…

    Like

    • June 15, 2013 4:16 pm

      beadsandfibreslady – thank you for the kind words, for following my blog and passing it along. I married in Southsea, had my first baby in Portsmouth and have wonderful memories of Hampshire.

      Like

  3. June 15, 2013 4:17 pm

    What an exquisite little book. Get well soon, Jean.

    Like

  4. June 15, 2013 4:22 pm

    jean, i am glad it came at the right time. sending more hugs and love–

    Like

  5. Judi bushby permalink
    June 15, 2013 7:02 pm

    What a lucky girl you are. Simply gorgeous. Makes you feel rally special when thins lie that come along.

    Like

  6. June 16, 2013 9:27 am

    I’m so sorry to learn things have not been going very well for you Jean, I hope the new week dawns brighter. Velma’s package came along at just the right time. Hugs and love to you my Indigo sister.

    Like

  7. lagriccia permalink
    June 16, 2013 10:33 pm

    Dear Jean, sorry to hear about your difficult week, but the little book is a wonder that must make you dream.

    Like

  8. June 17, 2013 1:53 am

    sorry to hear you are experimenting a rough patch. but on the other hand happy to hear you are surrounded by so much love.
    keeping you in my thoughts.

    Like

    • June 17, 2013 11:08 am

      Neki – thanks, I am moving forward, a little more slowly than usual!
      Blandina – the paper is almost like leather. Velma made me promise I’d write/draw/stitch in it but it is going to take some time before I’m ready to do that.

      Like

Leave a Reply

