Skip to content

sampling

May 5, 2013

over years of textile/fibre  pursuits many ideas-techniques-designs have piqued my interest

but there is never enough time!

and so they have been relegated to notebooks, scraps of paper and “someday”

Someday Has Come!!

shibori 138

I’ve decided to spend some time exploring those elusive ideas

starting with more woven shibori

warp threads are natural dyes from the endless beige colour range – cotton, cotton/hemp blend and bleached linen

the weft in the foreground is silk and next is shifu thread spun from Japanese washi

shifu 080

the shibori draw-up pattern is a variation of the Summer and Winter pattern from Catharine Ellis’ book,

Woven Shibori  

shibori 135

I cut off and dyed the first sample with a linen weft to see if the results were worth continuing

indigo 122

four dips in the vat

I’ve been stirring, feeding and talking to my outdoor indigo vat, it has not really been warm enough but this weekend we are experiencing a record-breaking heat wave

shibori 136

this sample has been dipped 8 times, more samples to come!

spinning 167

at night, I spin. The yak/silk blend is as soft as a cloud and the blanket is finished.

“Questions lead to further questions, and inquiry breeds insight.”

Lyanda Lynn Haupt,  Crow Planet

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2013 1:48 pm

    Ooo, this is very exciting…exploring. My notebooks are overflowing, too. Sometimes I think that by the age of 60 I’ll just give up, but probably not. The shibori is really nice, sort of like cracked glaze, and that silk/yak is heavenly. Do you have a plan for it?

    Like

    • May 5, 2013 2:11 pm

      Kristin – working up to this last birthday I hit a bare patch and really did consider giving up — but then what do you do?? So this is my plan for the remainder of the year – then I’ll re-access. I’m spinning silk/cashmere now and I think the two will go together in something?

      Like

      • May 5, 2013 6:51 pm

        I know what you mean…we all need a little down time…can’t live in inspiration ALL the time.

        Like

      • May 5, 2013 7:59 pm

        Kristin – sometimes I think it would be easier if I was the type of person that would be satisfied doing a professional job of the same technique over and over – but it is not to be!

        Like

  2. lagriccia permalink
    May 5, 2013 10:27 pm

    I love your sampling, it is so interesting to see your experimentation and feel your excitement. Well done Jane, please do not stop!

    Like

    • May 5, 2013 10:56 pm

      thanks, Blandina, I’ve never been much good at weaving samples so maybe I’ll make up for it now.

      Like

  3. neki desu permalink
    May 6, 2013 2:01 am

    oohh the woven shibori is so subtle.

    Like

  4. May 6, 2013 4:05 am

    This looks so exciting, keep going 🙂

    Like

  5. May 6, 2013 10:59 am

    this past year I have explored woven shibori also. It is just fascinating the transformation on dyeing the fabric. You had nice results from immersing the piece in dye. I’ve only dyed by painting on the dyes to each side of the pulled piece. I hope you’ll share more.

    Like

    • May 6, 2013 11:10 am

      Barb – I have been working with woven shibori for several years, weaving several pieces of yardage including taiten shibori. I was lucky enough to take a workshop with Catharine Ellis approx. 5 years ago. If you go back in my blogs there is more documentation of the process.

      Like

Leave a Reply

