Skip to content

it is off the loom!

April 30, 2013

thank goodness!

weaving-finishing 278

it is not as long as I had planned but sometimes common sense tells you to quit while you are ahead

weaving-finishing 281

the pattern is log cabin with four colours

the white thick and thin yarn looks like ikat

weaving-finishing 286

the twisted fringes will take some time

in 40 years of weaving I’ve never stopped experimenting – never settled down to one technique or style

these yarns were heavier than I generally use,  all commercial yarns and chemical dyes

the weaving was the full width of my loom – 40 inches

it is good to learn something new!

I like fine yarns, handspun, natural dyes and narrower widths

what’s next?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2013 3:37 pm

    Good looking blanket! No, it’s never too late to learn something new. Onward.

    Like

  2. April 30, 2013 5:38 pm

    It’s more than lovely. It definitely conjures spring. Beautiful!

    Like

  3. Myra Dunn permalink
    April 30, 2013 5:44 pm

    Beautiful as usual, Jean!

    Like

  4. April 30, 2013 6:04 pm

    This looks like it is going to be soft. Makes me want to curl up and take a nap (with the AC on–at least here). What are your plans for it?

    Like

    • April 30, 2013 8:52 pm

      Kristin – I am teaching a workshop at the Esquimalt Nation’s longhouse (aboriginal peoples) and they ask for a blanket instead of signing a contract (so it is a trade blanket)
      Myra – Susan it is a bit brighter than I am used to, I haven’t washed it yet but it is soft.

      Like

  5. beadsandfibreslady permalink
    May 1, 2013 1:19 am

    From southern England: Wonderful! Every posting you put out to the world is so inspiring. I love your work!! XX

    Like

  6. neki desu permalink
    May 2, 2013 12:27 am

    looks good! learning keeps the soul going

    Like

  7. May 3, 2013 4:10 am

    I can only smile on how you always amaze me with your work. Lovely pattern, you are such a clever weaver.

    Like

    • May 3, 2013 7:47 am

      Blandina – thank you, the pattern is the same one I teach my new students. It is easy, effective and has endless variations.

      Like

Leave a Reply

