Skip to content

little things

April 12, 2013

it’s that time again!

events 375

it seems to get more difficult and annoying every year, in the mail today!

spring 162

but the flowers are blooming

insects-critters 074

the birds are singing

spinning 155

the Merino wool is spun

equipment 025

and I’ve been playing with the Structo loom

the warp yarn is amazing! It is a fine, tightly twisted 3 ply and has been on the loom for years.

It had blobs of paint on it so I wound it forward onto the front beam before sampling, not a single break.

The loom action is a bit rough – and noisy, but it works and the selveges are perfect without any fussing.

equipment 029

don’t you love the little shuttles? They were a gift when I studied at Kawashima, used for weaving inlay on kimono silk. The metal shaft that holds the bobbin is the inside, ink part of a ball point pen, the spring action makes it fit perfectly.

very clever.

last year, on Friday the 13th I flew to Japan. Wish I was going again!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Myra Dunn permalink
    April 12, 2013 6:03 pm

    Me too, Jean. I had such a good time with good company. I learned such a lot in suchan enjoyable way. Maybe we should have a reunion of the Indigo Sisters in Singapore or something.

    Like

    • April 12, 2013 6:28 pm

      Hi Myra -I have such wonderful memories and have continued experimenting with the techniques we learned. I lived in Jahore Bahru/Singapore for 2 years as a British Navy wife. Great memories from there, too.

      Like

  2. April 12, 2013 9:27 pm

    yay for the lovely weaving! and getting horrid taxes out of your hair. i have that same little ruler; i took mine from my father when i found he had one and never used it. he said it was older than me and that he bought it back in his grad school days in washington state. that IS clever, the ball point pen trick!

    Like

    • April 12, 2013 10:42 pm

      Aimee – it’s lovely to hear from you, I’m following your travels and know you are very busy.I have an old wooden ruler I had in grade school with my initials carved into it. I’ll use it in a photo next time. Take care. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. April 13, 2013 9:59 am

    What a cool little loom! I’ve seen them before but haven’t had a chance to take one for a test drive. The shuttles are so simple and perfect. Are they carved from a single piece of wood? I wish I was going to Japan, too ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

    • April 13, 2013 10:11 am

      Kristin – the warp on the loom is wound on 4 metal drums (picture in previous blog) at one time you could buy them pre-warped. I’m testing out the loom on the old warp and wondering how to put on a new one. the shuttles were made by one of the sensei, not sure what the wood is but all one piece.

      Like

  4. April 14, 2013 9:09 am

    How interesting that the warp is still in good condition and usable. Nice that you are giving it a new life. Looks good.
    I learned to weave on a structo with those prewound spools. I was eleven years old. Brings back memories. Isn’t it strange that people found it easier to use those rather than make their own warps? After you’ve wound one warp on a warping board, the terror is gone.

    Like

    • April 14, 2013 10:29 am

      Alice – it obviously has spent many years in a dark corner of someone’s basement.The warp is very strong and fine, it must have been many yards long. Taking the fear out of warping is what I try to do in my beginning weaving classes, some people don’t continue – they are looking for quick and easy.

      Like

  5. neki desu permalink
    April 15, 2013 1:46 am

    those babies are my favorite shuttles.something in them that makes them “holdable”
    i’ve heard Structos are indestructible,perhaps the name comes from that fact .

    Like

    • April 15, 2013 7:58 am

      Neki – I think Structo was made by the same Co. that made the meccano building toys, the name came from them. The shuttles are lovely to use.

      Like

Leave a Reply

