Skip to content

paper thread and yak

March 6, 2013

cutting more washi in preparation for spinning

shifu 074

this knitted shifu yarn started out the same as the small container

without any extra shaping the square bottom folded to become  a rounded bag

and I knitted extra rows of diamond shapes

shifu 073

at the top, a knitted facing makes a casing for a drawstring

the bag is lined with kakishibu dyed silk

spinning 141

one oz. of silk/yak blend

the singles were significantly over-spun, the yarn seemed to come apart in my hands whenever I let it relax.

I plyed it on my wheel. It is very soft and lofty

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2013 1:29 pm

    What a lovely little bag, I’m a weaver but haven’t done much weaving with paper yarns

    Like

    • March 6, 2013 2:01 pm

      Debbie – I cut and spin my paper yarns(shifu) from handmade Japanese paper. It’s a slow process with many steps. This is my first experiments with knitting with it.

      Like

  2. March 6, 2013 5:21 pm

    Your knitted containers are little gems. More, more!

    Like

  3. March 7, 2013 4:46 pm

    i love that little knitted piece. just love it.

    Like

    • March 7, 2013 7:16 pm

      thanks, Velma. I’ve been holding you close all day. Dyeing with indigo and I didn’t spill a drop!!

      Like

      • March 8, 2013 3:47 pm

        thank YOU jean, the love from the blogosphere, and you, has meant a great deal to me.

        Like

      • March 8, 2013 3:58 pm

        Velma – wish I was closer but I know that such raw, empty heartache takes time to heal

        Like

  4. March 8, 2013 10:22 am

    Such a lovely container! Perfect use for your shifu yarn. Yak does need lots of twist since it’s so short but luckily it still is very soft. Yum. Hope you’re all better now, Jean!

    Like

    • March 8, 2013 10:36 am

      thanks, Lousia- surprised at the response to the little off-the-cuff bag. the yak needs to be knitted to feature the softness, will have to spin more. thanks, I’m well,it’s full speed ahead!

      Like

Leave a Reply

