Skip to content

spinning natural fibres

February 10, 2013

I love to spin – anything that is fibre-y – except cat hair, after 20 minutes I can’t breathe

spinning 119

top is spindle spun cotton plyed with reeled silk and below is a silk/camel blend

most of my yarn is 2 ply, it is good for warp and it takes longer which slows down the production  (good in my case )

also it wears well both for knitting and weaving

there are baskets, drawers and cupboards full of  handspun

it even ends up in the deep freeze during moth season

spinning 117

 due to the irregularity in the cotton and the extreme fineness of the silk the yarn has a nice texture

spinning 124

the silk/camel is my favorite blend – it is soft and light – easy to spin – and just plain gorgeous

the colours are difficult to capture in the winter light

spinning 114

this is my third year using materials from my stash – friendly people keep adding to it!

I’ve knitted this bag before, from a pattern in Interweave Press magazine FELT  2008

knit from small amounts of leftover yarns, the white is the scratchy llama

it is topped dyed and  fulled (felted), then lined with something pretty

I’ll keep you posted

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Renee permalink
    February 10, 2013 6:51 pm

    There must be something about the turn of the new year, spinnining is on the mind. Beautiful.

    Like

  2. February 10, 2013 7:01 pm

    Ah, your handspun is so warm. I love the way the silk adds sparkle and shine to the cotton.

    Like

    • February 10, 2013 7:59 pm

      Kristin – thanks, I like that blend, too
      Renee – I think it must be the weather/time of year

      Like

  3. February 11, 2013 4:10 am

    these look very yummy. I like the pearl-y structure of cotton-silk. Do you blend your camel-silk yourself? I never tried to spin silk – what would be the easiest form of silk fiber to start with?

    Like

    • February 11, 2013 7:43 am

      Alfia – I buy the silk/camel already blended. start with a silk roving or sliver, it depends on what you are spinning it on (wheel or spindle) silk can be very slippery, some people find spinning a blend is easier.

      Like

      • February 11, 2013 10:54 am

        Thank you, Jean!
        i am struggling with suri alpaka on my wheel, i wonder if there is anything more slippery than that…

        Like

      • February 11, 2013 4:01 pm

        Alfia – oh, yes because the structure is different and individual fibres are very slippery.

        Like

  4. February 11, 2013 4:26 pm

    i had so much stash once that i had it too long and guess who moved in and ate their way through. it was horrible. i love the texture of the cotton/silk. the bag is lovely.

    Like

    • February 11, 2013 4:28 pm

      Velma – I’m not big on killing creatures, but moths are an exception. If they move in on a spinner it’s their karma!

      Like

  5. February 12, 2013 12:48 am

    the cotton silk gets my vote

    Like

  6. Lorrie Irwin permalink
    February 12, 2013 10:10 am

    I can’t imagine a more peaceful pursuit on a chilly night than spinning such beautiful fibres.

    Like

  7. August 3, 2015 8:16 am

    Natural Fibres Market – Am I supposed to be flattered? Written at the top of my blog is “please ask permission …” and still you use my image for your header?? Well, at least you let me know.

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Natural Fibres Market - The Melbourne Scoop

Leave a Reply

