Skip to content

the beat goes on

February 4, 2013

another student has reached the sampling stage

students 147

and discovered space dyed yarn

her completed  scarf is rolled onto the front beam (bottom of the picture)

weaving-finishing 258

the weft in my second scarf is 2 ply handspun silk. I painted the silk roving with Procion MX dyes before spinning

weaving-finishing 256

while I tended the weekend sale I had time to warp the loom

I’ve been planning to weave blinds for my living room window for 17 years

weaving-finishing 257

a very simple pattern from Weave a Weave by Malin Selander woven in linen

I had to make a few adjustments because I didn’t have the correct reed but I’m thrilled with results

events 355

farewell to the Canadian penny, although they will be in circulation for some time

shown here on a new plastic $20 bill, the camera picked up the holograms in an eerie way

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Judith bushby permalink
    February 4, 2013 3:34 pm

    We haven’t had 1 or 2 cent coins for some years now although price are till given as 3.99 etc. our plastic notes have been around for a while . They don’t like getting wet as they tend to stick together. Have fun

    Like

  2. Myra Dunn permalink
    February 4, 2013 3:39 pm

    We’ve had plastic bills here for more than 20 years and I’ve found they are much more durable than paper money. Ours are very brightly coloured too. Very collectable.

    Like

  3. February 4, 2013 4:45 pm

    oh, my. i am terribly excited about your blinds! and somehow suspect we will still have plenty of canadian pennies mixed in with our lot south of the border. 🙂

    Like

    • February 4, 2013 5:03 pm

      Aimee – the blinds will take awhile, there was a U.S. penny in the ones I photographed
      Judy – I thought the glowing Queen was interesting
      Myra – I really like the clear window in the bills and the $20 is nice because it has red poppies so we remember every day.

      Like

  4. February 5, 2013 5:42 pm

    i think your students are very lucky. a great way to begin. and 17 years isn’t really a long time, you had to excavate the stash to locate the linen, right?!

    Like

  5. February 6, 2013 1:21 am

    blinds are looking good!

    Like

  6. February 9, 2013 11:07 am

    The weaving all looks great and I particularly love a simple weave with linen. Your blinds will be lovely! I’m still getting used to the $20 bill (fresh ones are hard to count quickly at the bank machine) and kind of sad to see the penny go. You’d think it would inspire vendors to round their prices but then taxes would just un-round them anyhow. It’ll be interesting to see how it all works out.

    Like

    • February 9, 2013 11:45 am

      Louisa – I love linen, plain and simple. I wouldn’t mind the penny going (we are not the first) BUT only if the money saved wasn’t going to feather Harper’s war chest. I personally think he should be put in a leaky dingy, cast adrift in Van. harbor and wait for the non-existent Coast Guard to come and get him. What a way to go!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

