Skip to content

trivia

January 24, 2013

the gremlins are banished, weaving progresses

there are five different colours, four threaded blocks and six treadling blocks

that mixes colours and patterns up and the repetition is not so obvious

weaving-finishing 253

the word puce comes from the French for flea – the explanation is even worse than the word itself – yuck!

It was Marie Antoinette’s  favorite colour

I’ve never given the word or colour much thought but it is now a big favorite, more of it to come.

Amiee is spinning paper yarn on an antique bobbin winder she ordered from Sweden

a clever idea she got from Velma

I have 3 bobbin winders, all LeClerc. One approximately 35 years old (on loan to a student) and the other 2 of unknown vintage.

equipment 008

this one lives in the kitchen – so I can wind bobbins while supper cooks

equipment 011

my favorite and the one we use in the studio, the action is easy and smooth

so, I’m off to wind bobbins!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. myrajdunn permalink
    January 24, 2013 3:20 pm

    Yes Jean! I’ve always thought puce was a horrid word. The colour itself is great though. Haha!

    Like

  2. palazzoducale permalink
    January 25, 2013 12:09 am

    Your weaving is great. It sometimes gives a look of emboss on some parts. Amazing how the fact that a thread crosses another gives a totally different dialog between colors.

    To save the reputation of this poor animal, one can say that ” puce ” is also a sweet word used by men adressing their beloved girlfriend in the expression ” Ma puce”, meaning sth like ” my dear little friend ” (due to the fact that women are generally smaller than their man).
    It’s sweet, but a bit familiar. It’s also used between women who are close friends, or by mothers to their children.

    I’m also impressed by your collection of spinning tools. I also made one from a hand machine originally made to peel off fruits or vegetable. The big one looks like a sewing machine wheel,

    Like

    • January 25, 2013 8:58 am

      plazzoducale – thanks for the translation for puce, it is so much nicer than the one I found. I love old tools, they generally are simple and do their job well and their history gives them life.

      Like

  3. January 25, 2013 2:55 am

    ha! puce (shudder) is NOT a color i much like, but jean, you’ve made it sing and THAT’S a good reason to reframe my thinking.

    Like

  4. February 4, 2013 9:09 am

    I like the valuable info you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here regularly. I am quite certain I’ll learn many new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

    Like

Leave a Reply

