Skip to content

craftmanship

December 1, 2012

the Art Gallery of Greater Victoria has a ceramic exhibition that I’ve seen twice

“Back to the Land”  features the work 31 ceramic artists from Vancouver Island and the Gulf Islands

from 1970 – 1985

events 328

events 330

events 332

the Gallery started in a Victorian mansion and  expanded over the years

I took art classes here when I was 7 or 8 years old

events 337

it has a small Shinto shrine on the grounds

and an impressive collection of Chinese and Japanese artifacts

events 334

a large jade bowl carved in 2002, so sorry I didn’t write down the artist’s name

events 329

events 343

bowl by Gary Chernoff

I’ve managed to overcome a couple of my WordPress problems and discovered some I didn’t know I had

ever onward!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2012 7:28 pm

    is it really “snowing” as I gaze at these rich images? magic!

    Like

  2. December 4, 2012 1:07 am

    the exhibit looks like a goer :)and the ceramic bowl is gorgeous.
    my eyes need rest i see white specs 😉 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

