Skip to content

tea towels

November 9, 2012

the tea towels are finished

they are a little bigger than I usually make, 51cm. X 76cm.  (20″ X 30″)

the warp is various linen yarns from “the stash”, there is a slight variation in take-up, not enough to consider a problem

the colour in the red linen weft ran a bit, the camera won’t pick it up

considering that it is quality yarn it is annoying

the weft in this one is a boucle, one thread is cotton but the other is anybody’s guess

I dyed it with indigo. The towel is soft, thick and spongy. I might keep this one.

the small piece at the end of the warp has a weft of natural colour, European hemp. Think it might become a bag.

the temperature is getting cooler but I can’t resist spending time outside, the colours are an inspiration

now I’m off to warp the loom

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2012 3:53 pm

    Nothing I love better than a stack of nice towels. These are lovely.

    Like

  2. November 9, 2012 5:19 pm

    I absolutely love the colors..like a vintage kitchen from the 50s! And the texture of that boucle one…I can almost feel it’s squishiness.

    Like

  3. November 10, 2012 11:14 am

    that red id gorgeous, even if runny! too bad about that, though. i’ve never woven a towel in my life (duck, velma, as jean lobs a stack of towels at you!). table runners, yes.

    Like

    • November 10, 2012 12:00 pm

      Velma – I started weaving towels as samples as I just couldn’t force myself to weave little useless squares. I even confess that to my students and have them all weaving towels.

      Like

  4. lagriccia permalink
    November 10, 2012 10:51 pm

    You are amazing, how many hours do you spend weaving? The tea towels are refined, they would add a touch of class to any kitchen.
    (By the way, the wool is in the deep freezer).

    Like

    • November 11, 2012 9:18 am

      Blandina – I’ve cut back on the weaving time since my back has been bad. (oh, the moths will get frozen wings!)

      Like

Leave a Reply

